Register now to get rid of these ads!

The Model T Speedster Build

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by blitzen142, Jul 2, 2012.

1. blitzen142

blitzen142
    from California

[​IMG]

Hello H.A.M.B friends,

I am a 20 years old and from Southern California. I am new to the forum and near the begining of my speedster build. The car is being fit together in pieces from my dads garage, friends collection of junk and parts Ive bought. I am a full time student back on the East Coast so I only have the summer to complete the project, and I hope this thread will help me accomplish that goal and keep me on track.
    I have done a fair bit of reading on T's ( Secrets of Speed, Model T handbook and a few others) but there is always more to learn and you guys really know your stuff, any help suggestions or comments are greatly appreciated. If you do not like the way the project is going or the styling choices I would also like to hear from you.
    I have grown up around old race cars and I have always wanted one of my own. The smell of the exhaust out of the straight pipes of a prewar car and the distinguished sound of each piston firing is something I cant wait to be able to call my own. The project as it stands now is about 1/4 of the way there. So far I have all of the work on the frame completed (with exception of shocks if I decide I want or need those) I have dropped the frame a significant amount. I have been playing with the idea of getting a Schroeder steering box like on the later sprint cars.

The Go:
    5 Main Bearing Block, SR Frontenac OHV or a 4 valve Rajo ( I need some help deciding which one) I have heard good thing about both but there seems to be a bit more literature on the SR. Love to hear your opinions.

Warford Transmission, Ruckstell rear axle

21" Buffalo wire wheels

The stop:
    Rockey Mountain Brakes

Here are a few photos of the project.

http://blitzen142.imgur.com/all