Register now to get rid of these ads!

Tail lights problem

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by 32highboy54, Jul 21, 2013.

  1. 32highboy54
    Joined: Dec 17, 2008
    Posts: 118

    32highboy54
    Member
    from southport

    Here's my problem. I found some tail lights housing and sockets I want to use on my 32. They are old 6 volt style. I am keeping the the sockets but I switched out from a single contact to a dual contact pigtail. I am getting juice to the pigtail but when I turn on the head lights the tail lights won't go on. Even if I touch one of the contact on the pigtail with the prob tester I get juice.
     
  2. Harvey29
    Joined: Sep 29, 2010
    Posts: 174

    Harvey29
    Member
    from kansas

    make sure the the housing and the socket are both grounded. When I installed mine I had to use a rat tail file and clean the bore where the socket goes through.
     
  3. 32highboy54
    Joined: Dec 17, 2008
    Posts: 118

    32highboy54
    Member
    from southport

    Thanks will give that a try
     
  4. Jcox68rt
    Joined: Jul 14, 2012
    Posts: 127

    Jcox68rt
    Member

    Maybe once you sand or rat file it, reassemble with a little di-electric grease where it makes its ground.
     
    Register now to get rid of these ads!

  5. jan bogert
    Joined: Jul 11, 2011
    Posts: 636

    jan bogert
    Member

    do u have a 6 volt system, or a 12 volt? I know on my 6 volt system, I had to ground the housing an the more ground the better.
     
  6. 32highboy54
    Joined: Dec 17, 2008
    Posts: 118

    32highboy54
    Member
    from southport

    It works just fine now..tank you
     
  7. GeezersP15
    Joined: Dec 4, 2011
    Posts: 344

    GeezersP15
    Member
    from N.E. PA

    The bulb and the contacts in the socket may not be aligned correctly. If you are using a 1157 bulb, you may have to do a bit of surgery on the socket so that the indexing pins on the bulb ensure that the bulb is firmly seated against the contacts in the socket.

    Oh well, I guess I didn't type fast enough. Disregard please.
     
  8. Won't work unless one of the wires are grounded. HRP
     
  9. A Rodder
    Joined: Jul 13, 2008
    Posts: 2,384

    A Rodder
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

    Sounds like you got it.

    The socket housing always needs grounded wether it is through the light housing or a ground wire coming off the socket housing

    6 -12 volts, makes no difference.
     

Share This Page

Register now to get rid of these ads!

Archive

Copyright © 1995-2013 The Jalopy Journal: Steal our stuff, we'll kick your teeth in. Terms of Service. Privacy Policy.

Atomic Industry
Forum software by XenForo™ ©2010-2014 XenForo Ltd.