Register now to get rid of these ads!
  1. NEW JALOPY JOURNAL & H.A.M.B. MERCH!
    Hey fellas, we've just re-stocked the store with a couple of great new t-shirts, an incredible jersey, and just about the best damned ball cap ever made. Put it all in your wardrobe and you'll be the sharpest dressed man in the pits - that's a promise!

    Anyway, to check it all out just CLICK HERE!

    (To get rid of this notification, just click the little grey 'x' located in the top right hand corner of this notification box.)

Tail lights problem

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by 32highboy54, Jul 21, 2013.

  1. 32highboy54
    Joined: Dec 17, 2008
    Posts: 120

    32highboy54
    Member
    from southport

    Here's my problem. I found some tail lights housing and sockets I want to use on my 32. They are old 6 volt style. I am keeping the the sockets but I switched out from a single contact to a dual contact pigtail. I am getting juice to the pigtail but when I turn on the head lights the tail lights won't go on. Even if I touch one of the contact on the pigtail with the prob tester I get juice.
     
  2. Harvey29
    Joined: Sep 29, 2010
    Posts: 176

    Harvey29
    Member
    from kansas

    make sure the the housing and the socket are both grounded. When I installed mine I had to use a rat tail file and clean the bore where the socket goes through.
     
  3. 32highboy54
    Joined: Dec 17, 2008
    Posts: 120

    32highboy54
    Member
    from southport

    Thanks will give that a try
     
  4. Jcox68rt
    Joined: Jul 14, 2012
    Posts: 127

    Jcox68rt
    Member

    Maybe once you sand or rat file it, reassemble with a little di-electric grease where it makes its ground.
     
    Register now to get rid of these ads!

  5. jan bogert
    Joined: Jul 11, 2011
    Posts: 655

    jan bogert
    Member

    do u have a 6 volt system, or a 12 volt? I know on my 6 volt system, I had to ground the housing an the more ground the better.
     
  6. 32highboy54
    Joined: Dec 17, 2008
    Posts: 120

    32highboy54
    Member
    from southport

    It works just fine now..tank you
     
  7. GeezersP15
    Joined: Dec 4, 2011
    Posts: 353

    GeezersP15
    Member
    from N.E. PA

    The bulb and the contacts in the socket may not be aligned correctly. If you are using a 1157 bulb, you may have to do a bit of surgery on the socket so that the indexing pins on the bulb ensure that the bulb is firmly seated against the contacts in the socket.

    Oh well, I guess I didn't type fast enough. Disregard please.
     
  8. Won't work unless one of the wires are grounded. HRP
     
  9. A Rodder
    Joined: Jul 13, 2008
    Posts: 2,390

    A Rodder
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

    Sounds like you got it.

    The socket housing always needs grounded wether it is through the light housing or a ground wire coming off the socket housing

    6 -12 volts, makes no difference.
     

Share This Page

Register now to get rid of these ads!

Archive

Copyright © 1995-2013 The Jalopy Journal: Steal our stuff, we'll kick your teeth in. Terms of Service. Privacy Policy.

Atomic Industry
Forum software by XenForo™ ©2010-2014 XenForo Ltd.