Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical Need some Suggestion to buy entry level shrinker and stretcher tools

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by smith541, Jul 28, 2016.

1. smith541

smith541

Hi. I’ve been wanting to buy a shrinker stretcher tool for more than a year. I feel it will help make my work easier. I enjoy sheet metal work, and I’m always playing around and experimenting with something. I’ve never used a shrinker stretcher tool before so I’m looking at entry level systems.
    Found this shrinker stretcher combo system by woodward fab. I wanna know if this tool will be a decent investment. I have a few questions about this particular tool, and I wanted to know if any of you guys has used it before?
    Did you find the jaws strong enough to shrink or stretch metal easily?
    It’s supposed to be used on mild steel and aluminum. How has your experience been on both these metals?

Woodward Fab Model WFSS101-2 Shrinker Stretcher Combo System (2 bodies, 2 jaws and 2 handles)
    http://www.woodwardfab.com/product/wfss101-2/

[​IMG]

2. cretin

cretin

I've never used the Woodward ones before, but I'd bet they are the same as the eastwood ones which I have used a lot. It will be a good investment, they will work great in a home shop for sure. Eastwood has them on sale right now for a bit cheaper then those ones.

I would advise also getting a stand to put them on that makes them foot operated, makes them much easier to use.

3. chopolds

chopolds
    from howell, nj
    1. Kustom Painters

Buy a Lancaster, not much difference in price, but a lot in quality!

Oooops, checked prices, and there is a huge difference now, not like when I bought mine!

Last edited: Jul 28, 2016
  4. brady1929

brady1929

Mittler Brothers

5. oj

oj

Baliegh has the same, an Alliance member and regular contributor & supporter of the Hamb.

Hookedtrout likes this.
  6. F&J

F&J

You need to practice the shrinker, more than the stretcher IMO.