Register now to get rid of these ads!

Determining Rear Axle Width ???????

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by WarpathEngineering, Sep 18, 2006.

1. WarpathEngineering

WarpathEngineering
    from Kentucky

Hello everyone!

As you might assume by this question, I'm very new to hot rodding. I'm currently building my first and of course I picked an odd duck, much like myself. It's a '31 Pontiac 5 window. I've recently picked up a good '64 Pontiac rear (trying to keep it in the family or in this case the tribe). The original rear measured 50" flange to flange. The '64 measures 59 3/4", just a tad too wide to sit under the fenders! Anyone have a fool proof way of determining rear axle width? I'd like to fill out the fenders but keep the rubber under cover. Should I have the rear narrowed to the original's width? Any advice would be great!

2. Mutt

Mutt

With my '32, I put the wheel/tire combo under the fenders, adjusted them to where I wanted them to be, and measured from the inside flat of the wheel center to the other inside flat. That will give you drum face to drum face width. Subtract the width of the backing plate/drums, and you have what you need. To do this, you have to have the wheels with the backspace you will be using.

Mutt

3. What Mutt says, but the only measurement that is relevant is the wheel mount surface to wheel mount surface. Backing plate flange to backing plate flange is apples to oranges as various mfgs have various width brakes.

Charlie

4. That's the easiest way.

You can do it with a tape measure and a little common sense but for a beginner Mutts way is by far the easiest.

5. WarpathEngineering

WarpathEngineering
    from Kentucky

OK I guess I need my wheels and tires. Just a standard backspacing and enough clearance for the drums? Looking to go with sheel reverse with moons.

6. Mutt

Mutt