Register now to get rid of these ads!

:::::cheap stainless steel muffler tech::::::

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by A Boner, Aug 2, 2006.

1. A Boner

A Boner

MVC-001F.JPG
    How to baffle a 2" dia. ss exhaust tube......screw mufflers!!!!!!!!

1. 2" dia. ss fender washer....see pic#1

2. Cut it in half....see pic#2

3....drill three holes...3/8" to 1/2" dia....see pic#2A

4....cut a slot 1/2 way through the 2" dia exhaust pipe see pic#3

5....insert the washer, and weld it in solid

6....move down the pipe approx. 3" and cut another slot, but cut it 180 degrees to the first cut

7....as the hot gasses go down the tube they are still expanding, so for your third cut move down 4" and make another cut, then 6'' then 9" ect.(stagger the cuts either 90 or 180 degrees)

8....I did seven (half washers) for my 181 c.i. Chevy II powered Model "A" rdstr p.u., and I've been running it like this for several years.....no tickets, but it is a little loud. I might add a few more washers some day, but it isn't high on my list of things to do.

9.... the ss washers are thin, so they fit in the saw cuts better than a Fat mild steel washer.............

10....Have fun experimenting with this, and let us (H.A.M.B.) know if you come up with a better combination

Last edited: Jun 10, 2018
  2. Never would have thought about that...!

Thanks...!

3. A Boner

A Boner

The 2" dia. washers are actually fender washers.............the hole in the fender washer is 1/2" dia.

Last edited: Apr 10, 2021
  4. A Boner

A Boner

It actually works very well. It is real easy to do, and the sound isn't "that" loud with only 7 half washers........ my wife thinks it sounds good, and says I shouldn't quiet it down.
    My 181 c.u. banger has a single exhaust pipe, with the 7 baffles..........that is the equivalent to a 362 c.i. dual exhaust v8, with 7 baffles in each tail pipe!