Register now to get rid of these ads!

1958 Dodge Truck 354 Hemi

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by sret43, Apr 3, 2009.

1. sret43

sret43

I'm new to the hemi world and have recently purchased a 1958 Dodge 315 hemi and a 1958 Dodge 354 hemi.

As you can see in the pic of the 354 in the truck I have the wet intake manifold. I also have a 354 dry 4bbl intake I would like to use but don't you know, I got confused.

I've seen pics of hemis with the front of the heads tapped for the cooling cross over and something in the third pic I don't understand. Will I eventually be able to use my 4bbl intake on my 354 without changing heads?
    Thanks, Steve

Attached Files:

2. David Walter

David Walter
    from Troy,Al

Theres another problem with using your dry intake on a truck Hemi, the exhaust crossover is usually too tall even for the 392 intakes that have larger crossovers than your 331/354 intake, see the photo of intake gaskets, top:331/354 middle:392 bottom:331/354 trucks. Some aftermarket intakes have threaded water ports and enough area to cover the tall crossover. I'm a real Hemi nut, but I always say you can learn something new every day, you've got me on your third photo, I hope someone else will ID it.

Attached Files:

3. scootermcrad

scootermcrad
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

Welcome to the HAMB and to the world of Early Hemis!

Click on the picture/banner in my signature line and you will get linked up to a BUNCH of helpful information on early Hemis.

Good answers above!

4. silent rick

silent rick

the center port on your 354 truck heads is coolant, not exhaust like on car heads.

find someone who is a good tig welder. have him add ears to your intake to cover the center ports in the head. you can blend them in with sandpaper rolls to make it look like they came that way. might as well have him plug the center ports on the intake. you don't need to circulate hot coolant under your carb. run truck intake gaskets.