Register now to get rid of these ads!

I'm to cheap to buy the gas tank I want - hammerform

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by hillbilly4008, May 10, 2013.

1. hillbilly4008

hillbilly4008
    from Rome NY

I've been wanting to do this for a while now. Being Tech week I figure theres no better time than right now.

Just a quick disclaimer; I hate working with wood, I am not a professional metal shaper, and this will be my first time doing much of what I intend to post in this thread.

Now onto the fun stuff. I really want to use a Model T style gas tank in my hotrod. Similar to this one here
    [​IMG]
    http://modelt.org/discus/messages/2/40521.html?1348377005
    To go along with the theme of "built not bought" that I'm going with on my Av8 I just GOTTA make one myself. Also I'm only using original parts, and these things simply aren't available used.

Here is how I'm doing mine.

First we need to make a hammer form for the two end caps. I had a board of White Ash sitting in the barn for years, real tough as nails hardwood (actually tougher than most nails) After thinking about it for a bit I knew how I wanted to lay it out Getting it from my head to the wood took me about two hours.

Mark out how you want to cut the form X2
    [​IMG]

Cut 'em. Like I said I'm no wood worker so I don't have any wood tools. The trusty sawzall with a bi-metal blade worked fine.
    [​IMG]

Next clamp them together in a bench vise, and run your sander over the edges to make sure they are identical. I bolted mine together so they couldn't stray on me. Again, I only have metal tools so I opted to use my 7" grinder with 36g for this. Really cut it fast.:D
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Now to cut the center for the "X" indent. I used a 1 1/2" hole saw and cut 5 holes.
    [​IMG]
    sawzall
    [​IMG]

and now your done making your hammer forms.

Last edited: May 10, 2013
  2. flatheadpete

flatheadpete
    from Burton, MI

This is gonna be a good one.....Continue Sir.