Register now to get rid of these ads!

Projects 1930 Chrysler CJ build (UK) ...

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by dudford, Apr 22, 2012.

?

Mopar flat6 or V8

Poll closed May 6, 2012.
  1. Existing Flat 6

18 vote(s)
    75.0%
  2. V8

6 vote(s)
    25.0%
  1. Hi,

Some of you may have seen my "Found this Old Chrysler..." thread which i started last month:
    http://www.jalopyjournal.com/forum/showthread.php?t=678898

[​IMG]

I'm now going to tie that off and start a true project thread as I felt that was like an extention of an introduction that had gone on long enough.

I'll admit, I'm new to working on these iconic American cars so, as I work through this build I'll be posting my progress as well as various things I am sketchy on. I figure I might as well utilise the resource of all your (you the HAMBers) knowledge as long as I'm welcome here.

So far with the thanks of the people on this forum as well as the AACA and p15-d24 forums (especially Rusty O'Toole, hkestes, drillmastertommy, Desotodav) the car has been identified as a 1930 Chrysler CJ Coupe. How many of these are still around? Rare or not? Some say it is but its hard to find information over this side of the pond. Also, someone on the AACA forum suggested the CJ stood for "Chrysler Junior" but then others disagreed. Well with or without the history I've made a start.
    You will also note, the mopar heads in here, that this is running a 1953 Plymouth 218 straight 6 only currently missing a starter motor.

However, HURRAH! I found a compatible starter motor in Kingsbury, California. Thats currently being shipped to me. As soon as I've got it, I'll turn her over and post a vid. In the meantime I've been assessing the rot and rust while having a closer look at the engine and running gear. These pics show the floor pan after I pulled the seats out:

[​IMG]