Welcome to the THE H.A.M.B. forums.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Go Back   THE H.A.M.B. > General Discussion > The Hokey Ass Message Board

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-25-2011, 10:22 AM   #1
schillaz
FNG
 
schillaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: North Dakota
Posts: 19
Default installing a turbo on carb engine

Have any of you guys put a turbo on an old carb engine?

Are there any kits out there to add fuel injection easily or i hear something
about a blow by carb?

any thoughts?

thanks
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2011, 10:30 AM   #2
TexasHardcore
Old School HAMBer
 
TexasHardcore's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 4,793
Default Re: installing a turbo on carb engine

You can run a Blow-Through system, which forces the compressed air from the turbo through the carburetor and into the engine. Or a Draw-Through, which pulls air & fuel from the carb, through the turbo, and then forces it into the engine.

There are kits out there, and plenty of components to make either setup work...depending on your application that is.
__________________
Tune Up or Tune Out.
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2011, 10:50 AM   #3
supervert
Member
 
supervert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: olivehurst ,ca
Posts: 423
Default Re: installing a turbo on carb engine

pros and cons to both setups. do lots of web surfin and there are a few good books you can check out.

here is a web sit you can read on. (warning) vw related

http://shoptalkforums.net/viewforum....12e1bae68df6e3
offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 03-25-2011, 10:54 AM   #4
indyjps
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Chicago - West Burbs
Posts: 1,455
Default Re: installing a turbo on carb engine

http://www.google.com/search?q=blow+...8&sourceid=ie7

google search on blow thru carb mods. if youre good with carbs you could do it yourself, carb hats are readily available.

What engine are you considering doing? The turbo Thunderbirds 1980's had a decent set up that will support lower cube engines, spools up quick but wont support high RPM's. Same with turbo buick.
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2011, 11:04 AM   #5
ELpolacko
Old School HAMBer
 
ELpolacko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Phoenix,AZ USA
Posts: 4,687
Default Re: installing a turbo on carb engine

Please do yourself a huge favor and spend some time reading this forum: http://www.theturboforums.com/smf/index.php?board=13.0

One of the best resources of blow through/draw through carb-turbo message boards on the net.
__________________
Visit my Social Group: Industrial Chassis Inc, Facebook , WEBSITE or Instagram
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2011, 11:44 AM   #6
schillaz
FNG
 
schillaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: North Dakota
Posts: 19
Default Re: installing a turbo on carb engine

Quote:
Originally Posted by indyjps View Post
What engine are you considering doing? The turbo Thunderbirds 1980's had a decent set up that will support lower cube engines, spools up quick but wont support high RPM's. Same with turbo buick.
I got ahold of a turbo off an 80s trans AM, i thing the motor is a 301? and i would like to put it on a hudson straight 6 262 engine.
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2011, 11:49 AM   #7
shawnsauto1
Alliance Member
 
shawnsauto1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Smithville, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 735
Default Re: installing a turbo on carb engine

Quote:
Originally Posted by schillaz View Post
I got ahold of a turbo off an 80s trans AM, i thing the motor is a 301? and i would like to put it on a hudson straight 6 262 engine.
I don't know if it helps, or matters, but I know that turbo is a pull-through.(I used to have one, and it is a 301)
__________________
Some guys just give up living, and die a little, piece by piece. Some come home from work and wash up, and go racing in the streets. Springsteen
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2011, 11:52 AM   #8
Hi!
Member
 
Hi!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: SoCal
Posts: 765
Default Re: installing a turbo on carb engine

I second the turboforums for info.
Also if you go draw thru, make sure its a draw thru turbo. The TA is a draw thru turbo, which would be fine if you go that route. But it wont work right if you go blow thru.
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2011, 11:59 AM   #9
schillaz
FNG
 
schillaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: North Dakota
Posts: 19
Default Re: installing a turbo on carb engine

Ok thanks guys i will do some more reading, I didnt know that was a pull through turbo appreciate the heads up.
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2011, 12:26 PM   #10
BadgeZ28
Member
 
BadgeZ28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Oregon
Posts: 593
Default Re: installing a turbo on carb engine

turbos are pretty simple devices but implementing them requires a bunch of planning. Compressed air is hotter. Getting it from a turbo under hood makes it even hotter. most people run an intercooler to drop the temps before they go into the motor. This requires more piping and a air to air intercooler setup. Good luck
__________________
The true sign of intelligence is not knowledge but imagination. A. Einstein
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2011, 12:42 PM   #11
daddylama
Member
 
daddylama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 570
Default Re: installing a turbo on carb engine

Quote:
Originally Posted by ELpolacko View Post
Please do yourself a huge favor and spend some time reading this forum: http://www.theturboforums.com/smf/index.php?board=13.0

One of the best resources of blow through/draw through carb-turbo message boards on the net.
^^ that really is the place to go. read everything... then start asking questions.

i've built/run draw through, blow through and injected/intercooled turbo motors.

the difference between draw through and blow through turbos (for the most part) is the seals... draw through have graphite (IIRC) seals to deal with the fuel. other than that, not much of a difference.

as a warning: this stuff is addictive. my hot rod is staying naturally aspirated... but my fun daily is a 2 liter pushrod 4cyl out of the 60s that's turbod/injected/intercooled and a damn hoot.

kinda hard to be "traditional" to *some* extent... but i do know my grandpa had a turbo that he was running (sorta unsuccessfully) on a flathead after WWII.

good luck and have fun!
__________________
aka dhallilama
III
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2011, 09:29 PM   #12
Turbo Rocket
Alliance Member
 
Turbo Rocket's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Iowa
Posts: 73
Default Re: installing a turbo on carb engine

After owning a Turbo Buick, fuel injection is the only way to go. Most people that own these cars have what they call a scan master to be able to tell if its running rich or lean, which is vey important on turbo cars. Not knowing how its running, you can blow one up pretty quick. If you really want a turbo, read up on the ls motors with turbo's. Impressive numbers on hp. Car Craft and Hot Rod have done articles recently.
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2011, 09:35 PM   #13
RetroSteel
Alliance Member
 
RetroSteel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Vancouver Island, B.C. Canada
Posts: 1,028
Default Re: installing a turbo on carb engine

6.95 @ 209 MPH
street driven turbo car!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lwF-kr91uxU
__________________
I've had a perfectly wonderful evening. But this wasn't it.
Groucho Marx
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2011, 11:24 PM   #14
51hornetdude
Newbie
 
51hornetdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: denver
Posts: 82
Default Re: installing a turbo on carb engine

Dan

Have you talked to Rudy Bennett in Tx? He has a turbo on his 262. He is not on Hudson forum much, but he is easy to get in touch with. PM me if you need his contact info. He is a great guy and would walk you thru an install, or get you headed in right dirrection.

Don
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2011, 07:36 AM   #15
oldcarfart
Alliance Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Clinton, SC
Posts: 1,463
Default Re: installing a turbo on carb engine

There were books published in the '60's by a guy in Florida on turbocharging Studebakers. Studebaker Driver's Club forum may have ready response. The book detailed low-buck turbo solutions, boost-referenced fuel pumps, etc. search "blow thru" with Stude group.
__________________
Just an Old Car Fart living in Clinton, SC
1953 Chevy Pickup
Too many "projects" <grin>
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2011, 11:36 PM   #16
turbostude
Grenade Inspector
 
turbostude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: minnesota
Posts: 339
Default Re: installing a turbo on carb engine

Might want to look at my TurboStude.com site. Also look at Uncommon Engineering in Indianapolis.
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2011, 01:21 AM   #17
nrgwizard
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minn. uSA
Posts: 412
Default Re: installing a turbo on carb engine

The sites that have a *lot* of info on, are:

http://autos.groups.yahoo.com/group/Carburetedblowers/

http://autos.groups.yahoo.com/group/...turbochargers/

http://www.gatorsuperchargers.net/

Not traditional, but lots of tech info. Different approach, but it works. & it's DIY. & no EFI.

Other sites, but I can't remember them all right now.

HTH.

Marcus...
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2011, 09:39 AM   #18
RacerRick
Old School HAMBer
 
RacerRick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 2,742
Default Re: installing a turbo on carb engine

I have done several turbo motors. My last two are my old camaro had a 350 with a draw through system, and the 404ci sbc for my 55 is a twin turbo blowtrough setup, with EFI.

A blow through carb setup is easy to setup, and EFI is not needed. It does make tuning easier, but is definately not needed. If you are going to build a draw through turbo setup, you will need a a turbo designed for draw through - they will have a carbon seal on the shaft to seal it. A non draw through turbo in a a draw through application will fail pretty quick.

The turbo on a 301 is a AiResearch TB03 if I remember right. Its pretty small.
__________________
Building cars from scrap since 1992!
offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:25 AM.