Register now to get rid of these ads!

I asked you answered, Project (Re)build & Section PROJECT THREAD

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Salty, Jun 12, 2008.

1. Salty

Salty
    from Florida

OK Awhile back I started a thread on your opinion on if I should section or not, after a few good dudes stepped up and photo chopped it for me I lit the green light....

Here's what I started with, I've been driving it for 10 years, bought it from a cow pasture, put it together and chopped the top with a quickness.....drove it for a LONG while then updated the suspention two or so years ago.

A seemingly solid looking 1950 Chevy truck, Straight and from out west where there aint no rust....A rock on must be submitted next to the retired welding glove that I was sick of catching on fire..

Anyway, see the uglyness on the firewall cut out that I braked up many moons ago....you know, the 90 degree angles with no lines....well I wanted to sort that out and found a sweet trans access panel fron an unknown late 40's early 50's ride at a swap....that will be going in its place...

Attached Files:

2. Salty

Salty
    from Florida

Welp, after measuring, taping, lain paint to follow (there is NO machinists die in J-ville, I checked...the only place that said they had it, didnt)

BTW I forgot to mention that when I first measured it twas LATE at night....I ended up redoing it....the line was visibly uphill....couldnt see it in the dark...you sure could during the day...luckly I didnt start cutting at night.

Attached Files:

3. Salty

Salty
    from Florida

the point of no return....the first peice cut....gotta document that...

Then more cutting, shaving, shaping etc, little by little the metal kept commin out....the real point of no return.....eh screw it, its only steel right?

Attached Files:

4. Salty

Salty
    from Florida

the pivital moment, droppin it down the 2.5" I cut out of it....