Register now to get rid of these ads!

The Rabid Whippet

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by The Rabid Whippet, Dec 27, 2007.

1. Well I have spent a bit of time in the last couple days on my 1929 Willys Whippet Coupe. I have about 10 hours involved and think Im doing pretty good as I have never done anything like this before. First couple hours was bracing for a chop. I chopped it 3" as it only gives 6" left on the front windshield. Next I bent some 1" tubing to conform to the trunk and then cut out one side to make a channel around the trunk. My car had no gutter around where the trunk would be . I tacked these pieces in and then bent some 1/2" tubing to match the contour of the trunk opening , then cut my trunk skin out of 20 gauge steel and tacked the top edge and rolled it down the 1/2" tubing while tacking it with my mig. After I got it all tacked, I set it in the trunk opening, it was close but needed a couple quick bends to fit exact. My next part was to try and make a roof that I had laying outside for yard art before I bought the Whippet to fit. I dont know what it was from but after cutting 2" in length and adding 1" in width, cutting the window and chopping the sides down, it fit good. It still had the hole in the roof so the left over steel from the trunk, I used by dropping it on the roof, using a felt marker and scribing and tracing the underside of the steel that mated with the roof . I then added 1/4" to the original scribe, cut and dropped it over the hole. Man it fit!!!!!! I like this stuff. Its really looking like a car now!!! I only dropped a molten piece of metal on my hand and watched it melt into my flesh once. I do construction and a ton of other stuff so this actually really seems pretty easy. I also formed the 1" pieces at the window by hand and my vice with a small chunk of 1/2" tube to form around. Like I said, you are looking at about 10 hrs. Im likin this hotrod stuff. Heres some pics.
    [​IMG]