Register now to get rid of these ads!

E85 Rod!?

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by widewhitewalls, Oct 22, 2007.

1. widewhitewalls

widewhitewalls
    from Michigan

Last Thursday I found myself flipping channels on the boob-tube and came across American Chopper, Though I’m not a huge fan of the Tuttles (or their bikes), I did become interested in their project. The were building an E85 bike.

I quickly browsed around on line because based on the episode, the bike for the most part was mechanically the same with the exception of the carburetor. If I understood correctly, it sounds as if with a modification of widened inlets and the jets and possibly a float, one could run E85 on just about any engine. (I’m no engineer, but this was the basics of what I found)

So, this got me thinking. If it looks like our country is going to try to deaden our dependence on foreign oil, would it make sense to start looking to build an E85Rod? (ERod, that sounds kinda stupid now that I typed it)

I know this kind of thinking is either going to be embraced with open arms by folks here, or rejected as quick as you can finish reading this post, but I was looking for opinions. If you consider that most Hot Rodders are innovative and crafty, then making the change to E85 may be natural. This coupled with the fact that our ways of life are changing, and would you rather have your rod sit with no fuel, or keep it going? However, just as easily, there is a long time tradition in gasoline; it’s practically our own brand of cologne. I think there are probably a good number of folks here who wouldn’t dream of switching over to any fuel but the mainstay.

So, I opened the door. I am of the mind that I’d be willing to give it a whirl. The only other fact that I found in my research that is of note is that E85 burns faster than gasoline, which in some folks cases, we’d need a bigger fuel tank!