Register now to get rid of these ads!

Sand bending Header Pipes.

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by metalshapes, Nov 2, 2006.

1. metalshapes

metalshapes

This was a set of Zoomies that were already on the Car, but the two Pipes closest to the Firewall were Modified for clearence.

To clean it up a little, I made two new ones.

I capped them and compressed fine Sand inside, and then bent them with a Rosebud on my O/A set.

Its tricky, and I'm still learning what I can get away with, but I think they came out cool...

Attached Files:

2. Cool work. A safety tip for you kids trying this at home. Make sure the sand you use is DRY. Moisture + heat + contained space = BOOM.:eek:

Wet sand will allow steam pressure to build up when you heat the tubing and if you've sealed the tube up, you've made a steam bomb.

3. junkbrick

junkbrick

Few questions...

did you use a form for the bend, or just work a small section at a time?

Did you heat it evenly, or more/less on the inside or outside of the radius?

I have been wanting to try this for some time...gotta get a tip for the torch.

Looks like it worked pretty well for ya.

--reed

4. Well that's doable. I haven't seen that done in quite awhile.

The zoomies look good.

5. metalshapes

metalshapes

No Form, I eyeballed it.

More heat on the outside seems to work best.

Getting a larger area redhot seems to work better too.

And putting more pressure back on after heating and bending ( one side is capped by welding it shut, the other has a wooden Dowel in it.
    So I hammered the Dowel in deeper, every once in a while.

I was warned about using dry sand only ( but not why...)

6. loogy

loogy

I like sand bending tubing. Your able to get some really cool shapes that would be hard to get with pre formed bends.

And to everyone out there who does not know, HEED THE DRY SAND WARNING!!!! I had one end blow off one time. Luckily it just embedded itself into the wall and not me.

7. MilesM

MilesM