Register now to get rid of these ads!

Report from the...ahem...upholstery shop

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Rolf, Aug 22, 2006.

1. Rolf

Rolf

Well, I say "ahem", because it's my first try, and it may be presumptuous to call it a real upholstery shop, but anyway...

It was not in the budget this year to farm out the upholstery for the coupe, but I did not want to spend all summer in a tin box without any insulation or comfort. I decided to give it a go myself, and even if it isn't perfect, I can say I did it myself.

I was hoping to get this article out during tech week, but work got in the way, so here it is, and maybe still helpful to some.

Affordable Hot Rod Interior

[​IMG]

I started out making a board from door panel material, available from the upholstery supply house.​

[​IMG]

This is pleated vinyl, also called "poor mans tuck & roll" ! Same stuff Skipstich used in his door panel post.​

If you worry about it being "era correct" it was available in the late fifties. Also, we are going for a decent job on a budget here.
    The pleated vinyl uses Dacron as the pleating material, and it comes 54" wide, marine treated and fade resistant. About $22.00 per yard.​

[​IMG]

This is the piping or vinyl welt cord I used, available from any upholstery supply house in many colors. ​

[​IMG]

Being new at this, I had to figure out what goes in what order before I start sewing ! ​

[​IMG]

First test...​

[​IMG]

I little crooked, but I get the concept...​

[​IMG]

Ok, let's try to make something...I bought this industrial strength sewing machine on eBay for $120.00
    Please note era correct "sewing table", it is crucial for that vintage feel and good result :D

[​IMG]

Here is door panel 1.0. It looked OK, but a bit boring...also, I did not like the visible screws...so...​

[​IMG]