Register now to get rid of these ads!

Shipping a Car from Canada to the U.S.

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by ShakeyPuddin55, Jul 14, 2007.

1. ShakeyPuddin55

ShakeyPuddin55

I've never done it before but I'm thinking of buying a car in Canada. It's an inoperable car. The seller knows nothing about the details of getting the car across the boarder and neither do I.

Anyone have any experience in this area? I'm hoping to use a smaller independant type shipper like Ben D. I've already talked to Ben and he's never shipped a car from Canada and it's out of his area anyways.

Thanks

2. ss34coupe

ss34coupe

If it is a complete-looking car (as opposed to a bunch of parts) then you will likely need registration. Sold a 33 Ford coupe to a guy in Washington state a few years ago - it was a roller with no motor or trans or interior. I had to get it registered in so he could take it across the border. Once that was done, he had no problem.

3. I sold Jason at Flyrite his '33 5 window a few years back - it was really rough, I only had a bill of sale and we jammed it full of parts for the trip to the border. He met us there (he actually drove into Canada a few 100 feet), we loaded it onto his U Haul trailer and away he went. The border guys took one look at it and waved him through. Pretty easy prospect, although I did wait around until he cleared the border just in case the border patrol needed clarification on the sale or anything but it ended up not being necessary. I don't live close to the border but we made a deal on the delivery/pickup beforehand and it worked out great.

Steve

4. michiganman061

michiganman061
    from Michigan

It all depends on the border guard you get....for example:

I hauled back a 47 Stude from alberta and at the Sweetgrass MT border the US guys just checked my drivers licence and waved me through. No hastle, no problem.