Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical Y block priority oiling modification

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Roothawg, May 20, 2018.

1. Roothawg

Roothawg

2. ottoman

ottoman
    from Wisconsin

The biggest problem with the stock oiling system was sludge build up from the oils of the day. On a fresh build the stock system will work fine when used with modern oils... that's stock to mild builds... I have no experience with race Y blocks so I cant speak about those.

3. Blue One

Blue One
    ALLIANCE MEMBER
    from Alberta

Tim McMaster has a simpler solution to that problem, pressurized rocker arms.

4. Its a really thin cam bearing. and if its a little bit worn. That lets the oil leak internally. Expecially if the passage is a bit plugged by sludge. Path of least resistance type of deal.

5. So all the conversion to pressurized rockers arms consist of is doing away with the factory oil return tube? that will not cure the problem of not enough oil reaching the rockers. We have been mashing those steel tubes flat for decades. The first article with the braided plumbing in the lifter galley that would address the delivery of oil to the rockers.

6. sunbeam

sunbeam

That system still does not address the transfur slot in the head surface. A lot of heads get milled which makes it worse. Did this guy look at the oil passages in a Y block ? The oil from the filter hits the passage that feeds the mains and cam bearings even with the 4th main oil look at the filter location. So taking oil from the 5th main is no closer than the stock 3rd main location.

Last edited: May 20, 2018
  7. dan griffin

dan griffin

Oldsmobile rockers were also short of oil. I use Chevy lifters and 67 Cad push rods. You have to clean up the oil return holes in the head and block.

jebbesen likes this.
  8. 302GMC

302GMC
    from Idaho

Overhead oilers are traditional on the Y motor ...

Old wolf likes this.