Register now to get rid of these ads!

wiring a coupe....

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by convict, Feb 26, 2013.

  1. convict
    Joined: Dec 19, 2012
    Posts: 44

    convict
    Member
    from laredo,tx

    Ok, I have never wired a car,but I will soon have to wire my 31 coupe, any pointer,how hard is it?? Any help will help....LOL
     
  2. motoandy
    Joined: Sep 19, 2007
    Posts: 3,320

    motoandy
    Member
    from MB, SC

    Ron Francis Bare bonz kit. Used it in my Model a
     
  3. manyolcars
    Joined: Mar 30, 2001
    Posts: 8,397

    manyolcars

    I run one wire at a time. Its fun and rewarding when you power up and see things light up.
     
  4. pops29
    Joined: Jun 4, 2007
    Posts: 512

    pops29
    Member
    from turlock ca

    Cant go wrong with Rebel wire 8 circuit kit. I sell quite a few of these, and Bob at rebel wire is the owner and tech line , no kid answering the phone give him a call 423-263-5399

    Rebel Wire harnesses are all assembled in America from American made components. We use only heavy duty SXL wire and label each one every 6" then bundle them for easy installation. Each kit comes with easy to follow instructions and tech line information.
     

  5. X2 on Rebel wiring. Good stuff.

    It's not rocket science - just go for it.


    .
     
  6. VoodooTwin
    Joined: Jul 13, 2011
    Posts: 3,455

    VoodooTwin
    Member
    from Noo Yawk

    It's easy. Just have plenty of cold beer on hand. And brush up on all your favorite expletives.
     
  7. convict
    Joined: Dec 19, 2012
    Posts: 44

    convict
    Member
    from laredo,tx

    Can I run,air cond,if I want later,with an 8 circuit?
     
  8. Dan1955
    Joined: Oct 24, 2005
    Posts: 346

    Dan1955
    Member

    I used the RebelWire 8 circuit kit in my 30 A coupe. Piece a cake after a call to the tech guy. Great kit for the money, and tech help is second to none.
     
  9. pops29
    Joined: Jun 4, 2007
    Posts: 512

    pops29
    Member
    from turlock ca


    If you are wanting to possibly expand then buy the 9-3 kit

    This kit has 9 circuits for lights, gauges, radio, heater, motor, and third brake light, plus 3 open circuits for whatever you might want to add such as power windows and doors, electric fan, etc. Kit comes with easy to use instructions for Chevy, Ford or Mopar installations, dash light wire, neutral safety switch wire, fusible link, 1 1/4" rubber grommet for the firewall, 3 fuse block terminals and fuse block label.
     
  10. Model T1
    Joined: May 11, 2012
    Posts: 3,309

    Model T1
    Member

    Go for the bigger kit for very little more cost. Extra circuits are nice to have and eventually you will use them. Like they said, just run one thing and check it. You will enjoy doing this and be rewarded when finished. My kid has been rewiring cars since around 10-12.
     
  11. brigrat
    Joined: Nov 9, 2007
    Posts: 5,355

    brigrat
    Member
    from Wa.St.

    Ron Francis Bare Bonz, $390................... the nerve!
     
  12. The37Kid
    Joined: Apr 30, 2004
    Posts: 27,820

    The37Kid
    Member

    I'm in the same boat, I wish you well, no two people will give you the same answer in things electrical. Good luck. Bob
     
  13. Did my own on paper first. Used Sacramento Vintage Ford braided wire kit. Doing it on paper gives you an understanding before you get started.
     
  14. norms30a
    Joined: Jul 17, 2008
    Posts: 570

    norms30a
    Member

    I have a Ron Francis for my A and everything is in bags labeled, like 1,2,3,4, start with bag 1 and do what it says. One wire at a time.

    I have screw connectors near the headlights and tail lights in case I want to remove the lights in the future, that way I don't have to cut wires.

    I also leave some extra wire behind the gauges in case I want to flip the gauge cluster down on to my knees sometime. Beats standing on my head,lol.
     
  15. pops29
    Joined: Jun 4, 2007
    Posts: 512

    pops29
    Member
    from turlock ca

    One thing to remember is,, Rebel wire is a member here on the hamb and a vendor
    the 8 circuit sells for 150.00 and the 9-3 sells for 170.00

    Rebel Wire Inc. – Bob over at Rebel Wire offers some of the best traditional wiring solutions on the market. And if you are an Alliance member, you get 10% off!
     
  16. Cerberus
    Joined: May 24, 2010
    Posts: 1,381

    Cerberus
    Member

    I had never wired a complete car before. Went with the HOT ROD 9 + 3 Rebel Wire harness. Bob helped me with the exciter wire, and the rest was a breeze.
     

    Attached Files:

  17. go-twichy
    Joined: Jul 22, 2010
    Posts: 1,650

    go-twichy
    BANNED

    i did my 30 coupe myself with a "ez" kit last year so it's still fresh in my mind. it went ok, just try and not be in to much of a hurry. i hid all the front wires in a tube. you will need some multi-pin connectors for the headlights. i put a milti-pin under the dash so i can remove the gauge cluster if i want to. i think was 13 pins for that, 5 pin connectors on each headlight, and three pin on the tail lights. i spread out the whole harness on a 4'x8' sheet of wood next to the car and re-configured it to fit my car and needed to add some wire to a couple of circuts. i put the fuse box under the left hand area under the dash then went across to the right under the cowl (no gas tank) and then down the passenger side thru a hole in the floor up against the cowl-side, then out and to the front. good luck with your install.
     
  18. D-man313
    Joined: Mar 17, 2011
    Posts: 1,156

    D-man313
    Member

    Another one using a Rebel 9+3. Great quality, easy to read instructions. Just take your time, and focus on doing one section at a time.


    Posted from the TJJ App for iPhone & iPad
     
  19. jcapps
    Joined: Dec 30, 2008
    Posts: 473

    jcapps
    Member
    from SoCal

  20. creepjohnny
    Joined: Dec 1, 2007
    Posts: 877

    creepjohnny
    Member
    from Sunland,CA

    Yes get a rebel 9+3 kit. The instructions are very detailed. Plus you can call and they will talk you thru any problems your having. And seriously, take your time, connect everything properly, heat shrink, solder etc. wrap it nice. Route it nice and you will be happy. Don't take a weekend. Take a week or a couple weekends to make it look like factory.
    I separate by front/engine/lights by middle/dash by rear/taillights. Divide em up, tape or cover them off. Find a great place to mount the fuse block. Find cleanest route for the wires, mount em down and hook em up.
    I always hook up the motor first, cause its just the starter, cool and alternator. Then the key ignition switch, then the battery.
    Because then your can turn on the key and see if things are working as the should. Like starter power etc.
    you will do fine. Follow instructions and take your time
     
  21. Gator
    Joined: Dec 29, 2005
    Posts: 4,016

    Gator
    Member

    Not the best advice for someone who's never done it....

    As others offered, buy a quality kit and follow the directions... Never understood why everyone is so intimidated by wiring.
     
  22. convict
    Joined: Dec 19, 2012
    Posts: 44

    convict
    Member
    from laredo,tx

    I guess 9 +3 rebel wire it is...... Thanks
     
  23. Shaun1162
    Joined: Feb 22, 2010
    Posts: 809

    Shaun1162
    Member

    If you buy it from this HAMB member, you get a 10% discount, regardless of being an Alliance member: http://www.jalopyjournal.com/forum/showthread.php?t=730018

    I ordered a 4 circuit harness from him a couple weeks ago... Great guy to deal with, and shipped fast too.

    The harness itself seems really well made, and the wires are all labelled every 6" or so, which makes things alot better..
     
  24. 55willys
    Joined: Dec 7, 2012
    Posts: 1,615

    55willys
    Member

    I use Centech fuse panel and wire from scratch sometimes, other times I will also use the Centech wiring kit. Very good kit that is adaptable to most anything. If you get the complete harness they will taylor it to the modifications to your car (ie column, alternator, radio, etc.) The panel includes turn, hazard, and horn relay. It is a printed circuit board fuse panel about 4"X9".
     
  25. The37Kid
    Joined: Apr 30, 2004
    Posts: 27,820

    The37Kid
    Member

    FIRE! Loosing the car to a fire in the garage that it attached to the house, that is worry number one. Three or four in the morning would be another worry. Bob
     
  26. Don's Hot Rods
    Joined: Oct 7, 2005
    Posts: 8,319

    Don's Hot Rods
    Member
    from florida

    Here is another vote for the 9 + 3 Rebel kit. I have one in my 27 and it is a good an any I have used. The American Autowire kit does have some advantages, like each wire being removable from the fuse block to simplify installation, but they sure are spendy.

    For the money a Rebel kit is a really good value.

    Don
     
  27. ml_engr
    Joined: Apr 15, 2012
    Posts: 121

    ml_engr
    Member

    Its not hard, just remember electricity is color blind.
     
  28. Ok I am sold will this also work on a 60 olds and have plug ins for the wiper/light/sterring colum ?
     
  29. gemcityrenegade
    Joined: Jun 9, 2007
    Posts: 171

    gemcityrenegade
    Member

    Shit for 400 bucks I just wire the shit from scratch. But I'm just a broke dumb ass redneck with a bag of zip ties who knows how to wire relays and fuse blocks..:eek:
     
  30. Diavolo
    Joined: Apr 1, 2009
    Posts: 813

    Diavolo
    Member

    Someone who obviously writes before reading. Rebel wire kits start at just over $100. Stupid hurts, it's just that stupid people don't realize they are being injured.

     

Share This Page

Register now to get rid of these ads!

Archive

Copyright © 1995-2021 The Jalopy Journal: Steal our stuff, we'll kick your teeth in. Terms of Service. Privacy Policy.

Atomic Industry
Forum software by XenForo™ ©2010-2014 XenForo Ltd.