Register now to get rid of these ads!

Window mount A/C units

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by nickles street chop shop, May 28, 2010.

1. nickles street chop shop

nickles street chop shop
    from Edum Tejas

Iv tried to find information about the A/C units you mount in the car winder and go down the road. Im not too good at finding much on the search feture on the HAMB. Anyone have some leads?

2. gtkane

gtkane

Are you talking about those "Cactus coolers"?

3. Stu D Baker

Stu D Baker
    from Illinois

Search "swamp cooler" and you'll find some stuff. Stu

4. nickles street chop shop

nickles street chop shop
    from Edum Tejas

Does anyone have any experience with them? Are they worth a damn?

5. pasadenahotrod

pasadenahotrod
    from Texas

They are filled with excelsior or other material to hold water from the reservoir in suspension while the outside blows through the unit. The outside air evaporates the water causing a cooling effect inside the car.
    Often called swamp coolers.

They work about as well as A/C units as the Turbulators work under carburetors to deliver more HP and greater gas mileage!

6. 40StudeDude

40StudeDude

Save your money, buy a Vintage Air unit..."Swamp coolers" are for looks only --"it "looks" like it works...not...!!!

R-

7. anythinggm

anythinggm
    from Oregon

Thermador was the popular brand name. Sears robuck, as well as a couple of others also offered one back then. I found my Thermador last year. Expect to pay $200-and up for a complete working unit.

8. Steves32

Steves32
    from So Cal

Maybe this is what you are talking about? ;)

[​IMG]

9. 49ratfink

49ratfink
    from California

my brother is not so much an old car guy like I am so he doesn't know all the valuable stuff we look for. he likes to go to garage sales and search for goodies. at one of them he found a swamp cooler for 10 bucks and mounted it on his Toyota truck.