Register now to get rid of these ads!

willys L head to f head engiine swap

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by h2omonkey, Apr 2, 2011.

1. h2omonkey

h2omonkey
    from vegas

Any one swapped these motors? Been trying to get the l head in my truck going in time for viva, but its not happening. So I'm going to swap a running f head into it for now. Can i just pull the motors and swap, or do the bell housing (flywheel clutch etc) need to get swapped too? Hope I can just do the motors. Found lots of info saying motors can be swapped easily but nothing mentioning bell housing components cross compatibility. thanks

Sorry for the confusion, i was refering to swapping the whole motor, not just the heads

Last edited: Apr 2, 2011
  2. xlr8

xlr8
    from Idaho

I'm no expert but I thought that the F head can even be installed on the older flathead engine. I was always under the impression that the engines were the same except for the head, but I sure could be wrong cuz I've never actually done it.

3. RichFox

RichFox
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

For what it is worth I did look at the older pre-war Willy four and the F head switch. There was one bolt hole that had been moved and would not line up. I understand that bolt was moved in the Mil. Spec. design and remained that way after '41. Attached a picture of the stock flathead manifold turned upside down and the hot spot opened up for more carburation. At the same time I made an adapter plate to correct for bolt hole misalignment caused by flipping the manifold.

Attached Files:

Last edited: Apr 3, 2011
  4. hillbilly4008

hillbilly4008
    ALLIANCE MEMBER
    from Rome NY

I believe its a direct take out and put back in conversion. My buddies are flat fender freaks, after overheating there L-heads they just yank em and drop in the F-heads. Biggest issue is carb to hood clearance. But thats in a CJ2A.

Register now to get rid of these ads!

5. h2omonkey

h2omonkey
    from vegas