Register now to get rid of these ads!

Why Does MIG Welding Get A Bad Rap?

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Drive Em, Dec 13, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Drive Em

Drive Em

Why does MIG welding get a bad rap? I have been fabricating for close to 30 years on race cars and Hot Rods, 28 of those years with a MIG welder. I have built hundreds of rear end housings, NHRA certified roll cages and chassis with my trusty MIG welder. I do have a TIG as well, but for what I do most of the time, MIG is the most economical way to go for me as well as the customer.

It seems like more and more I will get a call from someone who wants a rear end housing or one of the items that I build to sell, and when they find out it is MIG welded, they change their mind and tell me how much better TIG welding is. Does MIG welding get a bad rap from hacks who try to weld, or worst yet from the dreaded ?@t Rodders?

2. It started with the cheap 110 Migs advertised in the 80s in the magazines. "Anyone can weld at home!"

3. Blue One

Blue One
    ALLIANCE MEMBER
    from Alberta

Why ? Because Tig gives you a weld with much better metalurgical properties, finer grain structure better fusion zone properties etc.

The best quality weld on all weldable metals will be made with the Tig process.

By the nature of the Mig process the weld freezes faster and is less ductile etc.

As well there is a greater possibility of fusion faults unless the operator is on top of his game.

Personally I would not want to be in a race car that was coming apart in a major crash if it had been Mig welded.

The majority of high end race cars for Nascar, Formula 1 and the like are all Tig welded for good reason.

4. Shane Spencer

Shane Spencer