Register now to get rid of these ads!

History Who uses them?

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by captaintaytay, Jun 9, 2017.

1. Besides welding, do you use them?

007.JPG

2. Rex_A_Lott

Rex_A_Lott

Depends on how much I've had out of that square bottle in the upper left corner....at some point I get ten foot tall and bullet proof, dont need no stinking gloves.:D

captaintaytay, Texas Webb and Jet96 like this.
  3. hotrodyankee

hotrodyankee

All I do is TIG welding, so if it is something that wont take long, no gloves. But when I have a lot to do, I use my thin leather Tig gloves. Always wear them when doing aluminum.

4. Blue One

Blue One
    ALLIANCE MEMBER
    from Alberta

As a professional welder I use gloves for pretty much everything.
    The proper gloves for each particular job though, the ones pictured are NOT great welding gloves.
    Proper welding gloves have a leather wrist gauntlet.
    Using the proper PPE is the most important thing you can do before you pick up a tool.

5. squirrel

squirrel

I often put on gloves when I'm dealing with garbage or scrap...or when I'm welding or sand blasting.

6. Chiss

Chiss
    from S.C.

I do it for Safety sure, but I try to keep the oil from Skin off the Metal ( Salt in Sweat).

7. patmanta

patmanta
    ALLIANCE MEMBER
    from Woburn, MA
    1. MASSACHUSETTS HAMB

Most of the time, yeah. Small cuts and burns slow me down and a lot of the stuff I work with is rusty, dirty, and jagged.

8. I've made it this far with 10 fingers, I'd like to keep it that way.

9. Rex_A_Lott

Rex_A_Lott

Several people mentioned Tig welding, another type that works good is a golf glove for light weight stuff, but they are not going to hold up long with anything needing a lot of heat or high amperage, definitely not for stick or MIG.