Register now to get rid of these ads!

Hot Rods Which Rings to Use on Ford OEM Flathead Steel Pistons

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by A BONED, Mar 22, 2017.

1. A BONED

A BONED

I bought a 59A flathead that was used as a stationary generator it's whole life, it was supposed to be a great running motor. I pulled the heads to take a look at the bores, all bores look good, there is no lip at all on any of the cylinders, the thing is standard bore 3.1875' (3-3/16'). After cleaning off the tops of the pistons I found that one piston has a very small section missing on the edge of the dome, exposing the top piston ring. Another piston had a crack about an inch long, extending down to the edge.

The block looks to be a '39 Mercury 239, it has a 46-48 crab distributor and Ford 59A heads. Apparently this was not uncommon for a stationary / commercial engine at the time. I'm no expert, I don't really know if this is true or not. I believe the pistons in it are steel, 3 ring, standard bore P/N 99A-6110-A. I can get my hands on a couple of slugs, I was hoping to swap these out with a new set of appropriate rings, and hone the cylinders. I have included images of the tops of the pistons, and the block deck surfaces. Any advice on pistons and rings to use would be great. Thanks.

Chris.

Attached Files:

2. flatjack

flatjack

I see no sign of any sleeves. Did you check the pistons with a magnet?

Hudson31 likes this.
  3. A BONED

A BONED

No sleeves Flatjack, the pistons are definitely steel.
    Although I will go home and try the magnet test tonight, thanks.

4. 58custom

58custom

A question: is it normal for such a stock block to be relieved?

5. A BONED

A BONED

58custom, I believe it's '39 Mercury block that was use as a commercial / stationary generator. It's not unusual for these to be factory relieved to cope with detonation issues...

6. gimpyshotrods

gimpyshotrods
    ALLIANCE MEMBER