Register now to get rid of these ads!

Where have you mounted your Tach? Kustoms and Hot Rods

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by zep058, Feb 20, 2013.

  1. zep058
    Joined: Jan 9, 2007
    Posts: 599

    zep058
    Member

    I had a look to see if there is a similar thread...

    So how about showing us where you have mounted this handy piece of equipment in your Kustom or Hot Rod...is it concealed or on show?

    I picked up a Tach and am working out where I should mount it, either on the column or low, like below the dash.

    Here' some ideas I found in other threads, wheres yours?

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  2. mattrod68
    Joined: Jan 22, 2007
    Posts: 524

    mattrod68
    Member

    my buddies car, TotalPerformance on the H.A.M.B.

    [​IMG]

    my truck

    [​IMG]

    one more because i love my tach

    [​IMG]

    matt
     
  3. Lobucrod
    Joined: Mar 22, 2006
    Posts: 4,122

    Lobucrod
    Alliance Vendor
    from Texas

  4. Pontiac Slim
    Joined: Jan 16, 2003
    Posts: 1,188

    Pontiac Slim
    Member Emeritus

    For me it depends what its 2-b used for...I've had mine about everyplace and I like it here
     

    Attached Files:


  5. Don's Hot Rods
    Joined: Oct 7, 2005
    Posts: 8,319

    Don's Hot Rods
    Member
    from florida

  6. Groovybaby6
    Joined: Dec 29, 2008
    Posts: 757

    Groovybaby6
    Member
    from Denver

    In the dash...
     

    Attached Files:

  7. In most cases, when it's mounted on the column, you can't see it over the steering wheel -- unless you're sitting up like a Prairie Dog. In my rpu I tried mocking it up on the column, then mounted it under the dash.
     
  8. chubbie
    Joined: Jan 14, 2009
    Posts: 2,314

    chubbie
    Member


    i laughed when i saw this picture! a 216 with a red line at 5grand then i thought........it's a hotrod:confused: and it looks great!
     
  9. saltflats
    Joined: Aug 14, 2007
    Posts: 10,744

    saltflats
    Member
    from Missouri

    On my 65 chevelle I gutted the clock and installed the tach in it and kept the clock face so when the needle is at 12 oclock it is 0 and 1 oclock is 1000 and so on I will try and get some pics it snowing its ass off now.
     
  10. Iron Dog
    Joined: Oct 28, 2011
    Posts: 267

    Iron Dog
    Member
    from Minnesota

    My 51 Ford.
     

    Attached Files:

  11. HotRodToomer
    Joined: Jun 25, 2006
    Posts: 857

    HotRodToomer
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

    [​IMG]
    I couldn't really find a better place, its too big of a tach.
    The new R.A.C. will look a lot better, especially with the matching, "Motor Monitor", gauge next to it.
     
  12. Jims35
    Joined: Dec 22, 2009
    Posts: 279

    Jims35
    Member

    35 chev standard with a 34 master dash.
     

    Attached Files:

  13. 64falconsix
    Joined: Jan 3, 2013
    Posts: 128

    64falconsix
    Member
    from Daphne Al.

    This is my current tach , I will keep the same mounting location but will be going with a 3 3/4" tach without a shift light in the near future.

    [​IMG]
     
  14. Mine usually end up mounted just like this. I have stuck then in the dash and one the dash but mine usuallt end up mounted just like this.

    Oh after this pic opens if you double click it you will get a new window and you can zoom this bitch so large that you have to scroll around to see everything.
     

    Attached Files:

  15. chubbie
    Joined: Jan 14, 2009
    Posts: 2,314

    chubbie
    Member

    hotrod? you have 2 choices. on the dash, or on the column. you can't beat a sun super on the column with a hose clamp for looks!! if your bang'n gears a knee knocker just doesn't work:eek: a custom if it has a tach i would put it in the dash
     
  16. 35WINDOW
    Joined: Jul 7, 2005
    Posts: 454

    35WINDOW
    Member

    Here is mine-
     

    Attached Files:

    • Tach.pdf
      File size:
      263.9 KB
      Views:
      95
  17. no55mad
    Joined: Dec 15, 2006
    Posts: 1,887

    no55mad
    Member

    Used the dash radio hole.
     

    Attached Files:

  18. Here is mine!
     

    Attached Files:

  19. tfeverfred
    Joined: Nov 11, 2006
    Posts: 15,792

    tfeverfred
    Member

    I mounted mine on the column in my T. I have to lean over to read it, while driving. But since my cars an automatic, I usually only use it when tuning up my engine.

    Growing up, hose clamped to the steering column was just the thing to do.
     
  20. TudorJeff
    Joined: Feb 13, 2007
    Posts: 1,131

    TudorJeff
    Member

    Pontiac left a nice spot for a 3-3/8" tach as long as you don't need to know what time it is. It slid in there nicely with just a little boring out of the clock cup and most people passing by don't even notice it is not the stock clock.

    [​IMG]
     
  21. Post Apocalyptic Kustoms
    Joined: Oct 21, 2012
    Posts: 480

    Post Apocalyptic Kustoms
    BANNED
    from Outside

    Dow there out of the way so I don't get mistaken for a Hot Rodder. :D Ever tried to find a 4 grand tach? Not easy to come by but VDO makes 'em still.
     

    Attached Files:

  22. super-six
    Joined: Nov 20, 2008
    Posts: 191

    super-six
    Member

    I'm satisfied with the position of my tach but I need to make some kind of mount to get rid of the strap around the steering column.

    [​IMG]
     
  23. thunderplex
    Joined: Nov 27, 2007
    Posts: 1,183

    thunderplex
    Member

    In my 1956 Ford Mainline...

    Sent from my DROID device using the TJJ mobile app
     

    Attached Files:

  24. Lobucrod
    Joined: Mar 22, 2006
    Posts: 4,122

    Lobucrod
    Alliance Vendor
    from Texas

    Heres the motor in my '50. Not a 216 but a 401 Nailhead. Now who's laughing! :D
    [​IMG]
     
  25. Jay.S
    Joined: Feb 24, 2009
    Posts: 372

    Jay.S
    Member

    ImageUploadedByTJJ1361496447.171226.jpg



    Posted from the TJJ App for iPhone & iPad
     
  26. chubbie
    Joined: Jan 14, 2009
    Posts: 2,314

    chubbie
    Member

    F'n A!!!!! thats set up right!! right down to the fire extinquisher overflow!!
     
  27. NickJT
    Joined: Jul 17, 2012
    Posts: 640

    NickJT
    Member
    from S.E. PA

    Made a bracket to secure it to the steering column support

    [​IMG]
     
  28. saltflats
    Joined: Aug 14, 2007
    Posts: 10,744

    saltflats
    Member
    from Missouri

    Finally fucking snow anywah heres the chevelle with the clock tack.
     

    Attached Files:

  29. thunderplex
    Joined: Nov 27, 2007
    Posts: 1,183

    thunderplex
    Member

    Ahhh, ...a tic-toc-tach!!!


    Those were cool!!

    Sent from my DROID device using the TJJ mobile app
     

Share This Page

Register now to get rid of these ads!

Archive

Copyright © 1995-2021 The Jalopy Journal: Steal our stuff, we'll kick your teeth in. Terms of Service. Privacy Policy.

Atomic Industry
Forum software by XenForo™ ©2010-2014 XenForo Ltd.