Register now to get rid of these ads!

Where do you guys buy tools?

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Gasoline Junkie, Dec 11, 2011.

1. Gasoline Junkie

Gasoline Junkie

I know the topic of US-made tools has been talked about, but I want to know what kinds of tools are in YOUR garage. I'm just starting out and putting a garage together and I need to fill it with tools! As far as hand tools, I like Craftsman so I can bring it back if I break it. But what about other stuff? like compressors, presses?

2. RidgeRunner

RidgeRunner
    from Western MA

Being retired I don't plan on any production work to justify the purchase of the latest efficient high buck designs. I stretch my toy fund budget by keeping eyes and ears open for purchases of good old USA stuff at swaps, auctions, on Craig's list, by word of mouth etc. I can afford to have much more and better quality "handy to have even if I don't use it often" stuff that way.

My screw press, Arc welder, Beverly shear, alignment equip [including turntables], a couple of air compressors [shop and gas portable], power hacksaw, back up chop saw, big drill press, along with a whole bunch of smaller stuff came from those sources.

Ed

3. oldcarfart

oldcarfart

I would start out with Harbor Freight and get the most amount for your money. As these tools break/ wear out/ etc. then replace them with a better quality tool, watch for used tools, garage sales, flea markets, swap meets, etc. Sears often has a good deal on starter kits, WAL-MART has some great STANLEY brand starter kits at good prices. When you buy Harbor Freight they have different levels of quality, go for the better quality polished finished wrenches, their impact sockets have proven to be reliable to me and their range of specialty tools is large. Use the 20% coupons found in magazines and the free tool offers. The coupons are also redeemable online. If you need some coupons PM me your snail-mail adx.

4. cabriolethiboy

cabriolethiboy