Register now to get rid of these ads!

What would YOU do? rebuild a 292 y-block, or look for a new motor

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by luvzccr, Apr 9, 2010.

1. luvzccr

luvzccr

for the past few weeks i have been so torn between what to do. I've gotten some advice from fellow hambers and I finally decided to post a thread...

last summer i drove my 58 fairlane to the gym, and on the way it just made the most awful sound you can imagine.... i took the motor apart finally a few days ago, and when i took the oil pan off, a rod came out that had been broken in a few pieces. plus..
    a chunk of the cam was in the oil pan

needless to say it just looked so bad... makes me wonder how in the hell something like that happens??
    im still a young guy, just turned 20... this is my first time im tackling a project like this on my own. i took my 58 apart myself, got the motor out by myself, and am taking this motor apart by myself. my dad is helping me out telling me a little bit, but he said just take everything apart and take it to a machinist and have them rebuild it for me.

now... i dont know how much something like that will cost me. he said it might run me 800 dollars?
    now.. if i went to craigslist, i might find a 390 for a few hundred bucks.
    or even a 351 or something that might need a little modification to fit into my 58.

i dont wanna spend over 1,000 dollars on rebuilding my 292 if i can get a new motor for like 500. but when i say "new motor" i simply mean one off craigslist....

i'm really torn between what to do..
    look for a motor off craigslist, and part out my 292 for parts?
    or... rebuild my 292 and hot rod it out big time...
    any advice guys?

2. Saxon

Saxon
    from MN

I like the y-block route. But it sounds like money is tight so I roddin' it out would exceed what you would like to pay.