Register now to get rid of these ads!

Hot Rods What where street/strip cars in the 60's running for rubber???

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by DirtyThirty, Jun 24, 2011.

1. DirtyThirty

DirtyThirty
    from nowhere...

Hey all, just bored and looking for a different look for my Ranchero....I just built a motor for it, and it should be a nice, stout little thing, and make o.k. power, with a fair idle, and lots of low-end. Mild, but, it is a small-cube motor, and it should lope a bit with the cam I have chosen. I have decided to dress it like an early 289, and, since it is more likely as a late 60's mill, and the car is not scheduled for paint/body anytime soon, do to other projects taking priority, I think it will present better as a hot rod for now in it's current condition, than a mild custom, as it was originally going in the direction of...I'm a mechanic, not a body guy, so, I really have no business in a custom anyway! I've decided I'd better start playing to my strengths...) At any rate, If I do this, I'm removing the 3" blocks from the rear, and I will be wrapping some blackwalls on my chrome steel wheels. My question is: What tires look right for the time period, and will fit in the rear wheel house, without cutting it????
    It strikes me that the Wide-oval, or the Pro-Trac tire might be a bit late ( 70's???) but, I like the profile of the Pro-trac....What about M/T Indy's??? What else was going on then, and are they reproduced?
    Thanks for any insight...
    Any thoughts would be appreciated!

2. I ran 9" Cassler " cheaters " on the street, at Great Lakes Dragway I'd run Milford ( I think that's the correct name ) slicks. 1957 Chevy 210 2 door Hdtp. 348 w/ 3 Rochesters and a Muncie 4 speed. Perfection gear 4:11 rear end, ran pretty consistent mid 12s at 103 - 108 MPH. Hooked up pretty good for back then ( 1964-1965. I doubt those tires are around anywhere anymore.

3. FEDER

FEDER