Register now to get rid of these ads!

What type of oil to run in 1954 239 Y-Block V8? Y block gearheads! help!

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by FiftyFour, Apr 1, 2013.

1. FiftyFour

FiftyFour
    from US

I'm new to fords, especially an engine I know next to nothing about, and i know that back in the day these cars had oil problems, but I've read that modern oils have gotten better for these engines. Now my 1954 Ford has an all original 58k mile 239 cubic inch y block OHV V8. any ideas on what engine oil is good for these cars? is a multi viscosity okay? or do i have to run straight 30 weight oil? i normally run Valvoline 10w40 high mileage with 1 quart of 20w50 to thicken up the oil just in case of a leak. i have a 6 volt system on this car so running all 20w50 may not be a good idea lol.

2. JeffB2

JeffB2
    from Phoenix,AZ

3. Diavolo

Diavolo

Valvoline VR1 conventional. If you can find the "not street legal" labeled oil, it has 1% more zinc and phosphorous than the non-labeled stuff. Has enough zinc as is to keep internals happy.

Pulled from Bob is the oil guy, a post with a direct message from Valvoline.

Last edited: Apr 2, 2013
  4. F-ONE

F-ONE
    from Alabama

OK,
    First I'll touch on the Y block oil problem. It's a myth. The reason they have a reputation for that is simply the Average Joe in the 50s did not maintain his car properly. Y blocks oil well as long as they're clean. This means a regular change of oil and filters per 1954 specs.

Do you know what type of oil was run in the car? If a all it ever had was straight 30wt, you better stick with it.
    Switching to a detergent or cleaning oil could loosen all the decades worth of sludge, requiring a rebuild very soon. If the engine is very clean you might could try it but do not be surprised if it starts to smoke and use oil and rattle do to all the crud turning loose.