Register now to get rid of these ads!

What tools do you recommend?

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by White_Attack, Oct 29, 2011.

1. So here I am, Feeling a bit embarrassed about this. I came into this world without any support for my love of classic cars and I am just starting out.
    So, as Friends what tools do you recommend I use to work on my Car? I really have no help around here and gave up looking and decided I should just fix my car myself like I've always wanted. You guys are my only help.
    What tools are you using? Know of any good brands?
    Anyway, Wanna save cars? Help me and I'll save them too.

Thanks for your understanding!

2. slickhale

slickhale
    from Phoenix

cant go wrong with craftsman hand tools. the husky from the depot and kobalt from lowes aint bad either. start off with a small set and build from there, you'll figure out what you like.

3. Ghost of ElMirage

Ghost of ElMirage

Snap On prices are just stupid don't buy SO unless ur working in a garge full time making a living with ur tools. Listen to slickhale

4. bagged36

bagged36

5. brushape

brushape

Can't beat craftsman and there guarantee

6. Ghost of ElMirage

Ghost of ElMirage

damn right about craftsman guarantee

7. i may be a strange duck but have been in the repair business for 46 years and for some tools bought the cheaper ones, but sometimes you will need a snap on to get certin fitting loose and bought them individually and also bought snap on six point wrench from 5/16 to 5/8 for those stuck fastners get the long ones you will need the leverage

i have got S/K , a bunch of Proto a few, Macs and very little Snap On except for a dial back timing lite and a few other pieces

and even have some HF and buy a lot of spare pieces at fleet farm

you might try a pawn shop for some craftsman until you really start to make better tool buying decisions