Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical What to teach high school kids?

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by gijoe985, Jun 9, 2017.

1. gijoe985

gijoe985

Hey all, Grandview High School shop teacher here. So, we've got an old 49 ford, and El camino, a nova. We also have an eclipse gsx turbo build going on. A 3000gt vr4 twin turbo. Other stuff too. But I wanted to hear YOUR thoughts. What skills/tasks would you teach a total newbie first? I've got a lot of the book work stuff all planned out, but I want to revamp my program some next year. For my entry level class I want them doing more hands on. So I'm trying to come up with the top 10 most important general maintenance items that a person should know. Thus far I have always ran my intro course as a primer for my advanced classes. Heavy in theory, that way when I get them in advanced we can focus on hands on. But I want to try something new. Make it so if they only ever took my intro course that they'd walk away with most of the life skills a car owner would need.

So obviously, I have my own lost, but I wanted to hear what you guys had to say. I only get these kids for a few months and about 40 minutes a day. Not a lot of time. So try to focus on average car owner stuff more than car enthusiast/gear head. I'm saving that stuff for the upper level classes.

jnaki, Fedcospeed and chryslerfan55 like this.
  2. treb11

treb11
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

Basic auto care. Oil types and change intervals and why. Tires and how to interpret tire wear. Changing a tire without a cell phone (plug at an emasculating insurance commercial). Tools and their proper uses. Basic engine theory the Otto cycle. Get a junkyard 4 banger donated and let them tear it apart.

3. Petejoe

Petejoe
    from Zoar, Ohio

Electrical basics.

loudbang and sunbeam like this.
  4. Jethro

Jethro
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

How to properly and safely jack up a car and support it to work on.