Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical What Speedo Cable

Discussion in 'Traditional Hot Rods' started by Idealclassic, Feb 10, 2019.

  1. Idealclassic
    Joined: Mar 13, 2018
    Posts: 15

    Idealclassic
    Member

    Hello Everyone i'm new this this whole hot rod world and need some help with my speedometer cable. I'm using Stewart Warner gauges and attached are pictures where the cable will connect into the torque tube. Can someone help me pick the correct cable? 1932 Roadster frame with 1929 Body. 1939 Flathead and 3 speed trans.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Cliff Ramsdell
    Joined: Dec 27, 2004
    Posts: 1,098

    Cliff Ramsdell
    Member

    The speedometer cable I used in my model A build is from an F1 truck, 52 if I recall correctly.

    Correct ends and enough length to run with no issues.

    You didn't post a pic of the back of the speedo.

    Cliff Ramsdell
     
    dana barlow likes this.
  3. Aaron D.
    Joined: Oct 27, 2015
    Posts: 657

    Aaron D.
    Member

    I have new Stewart Warner mechanical speedo and a 1939 torque tube. I used The Lokar SP-1500U cable.
     
    dana barlow likes this.
  4. Model A Gomez
    Joined: Aug 26, 2006
    Posts: 1,122

    Model A Gomez
    Member

    I'm running an early V8 trans with Stewart Warner winged gauges and had a cable and housing made by Rusty at speedoservice.com. Price was good and fit like a glove, told him what trans, gauges and length. He is an alliance member.
     
    Register now to get rid of these ads!

  5. alchemy
    Joined: Sep 27, 2002
    Posts: 14,745

    alchemy
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

    What year Stewart Warners? The old ones had the exact same input as the original Ford. Later stuff (after around 1960?) had male threads and wouldn't work with OG cable.
     
  6. if the speedometer uses the 5/8" nut as alchemy said a Pioneer CA3002 for 63" and CA3004 for 83" should work

    FYI..any speedometer cable that will screw unto a GM th350 or TH400 will screw unto the Ford turtle drive

    if the 63" works out for you i have an extra
     
  7. Idealclassic
    Joined: Mar 13, 2018
    Posts: 15

    Idealclassic
    Member

    Thank you I appreciate your help. Didn't know GM and the ford turtle drive were interchangeable.
     
  8. C69A
    Joined: Jun 6, 2008
    Posts: 79

    C69A
    Member

    I’m using a Model A cable, same setup as you


    Sent from my iPhone using H.A.M.B.
     
  9. Idealclassic
    Joined: Mar 13, 2018
    Posts: 15

    Idealclassic
    Member

  10. Aaron D.
    Joined: Oct 27, 2015
    Posts: 657

    Aaron D.
    Member

Share This Page

Register now to get rid of these ads!

Archive

Copyright © 1995-2020 The Jalopy Journal: Steal our stuff, we'll kick your teeth in. Terms of Service. Privacy Policy.

Atomic Industry
Forum software by XenForo™ ©2010-2014 XenForo Ltd.