Register now to get rid of these ads!

What kind of paint to use ?

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Bob 1743, May 2, 2012.

1. Bob 1743

Bob 1743

There are many options out there, but being a novice, I am looking for a paint product that is relatively easy to apply. I would like to avoid wet sanding, buffing etc. Is there a product out there that I can shoot & be done. What am I looking for, single stage, urethane, enamel, BC/CC ? This is for a daily driver, not a show car, Just want it to look decent.

2. Ralphies54

Ralphies54

I'd go with single stage urethane enamel in 3 parts.[Paint, Hardener, Reducer] It can be cut and buffed if needed also.

3. KoolKat-57

KoolKat-57
    from Dublin, OH

If you have an autobody/paint store in your area stop in at a slow time and talk to one of the older counter guys about your project.
    Most stores want to sell you what you need and want.
    Ask for tech sheets for the products you're buying and follow the mixing instruction to the letter!
    Take your time and do it right the first time!
    Friends tell me the Summit paints are quite good.
    Good luck with your project.
    KK

4. Bob 1743

Bob 1743

There must be some more recommendations out there.

5. twinstick

twinstick

thats a good question, an old painter told me the better your prep is the better the out come will be, remember cleanlyness is godlyness!!

6. JD Miller

JD Miller
    from Wildomar

Back when it was still legal, i used the good old acrylic enamal. Prep and cleanlyness was a must and add some smoothy. A good painter could get a nice glasslike finish with out wet sanding.
    PPG has a nice single stage paint still .

Find a "good" paint shop and ask.

Last edited: May 2, 2012
  7. LeaveItToBeaver

LeaveItToBeaver
    from Ennis, TX