Register now to get rid of these ads!

What am I doing wrong?

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by usmile4, May 8, 2012.

1. usmile4

usmile4

So I'm new to painting and it is the first time I've used anything but rattle cans. I'm putting on primer on my 51 Chevy. I've read the threads like Overspray's painting tips. But I feel I'm doing something wrong.

Problem #1: How do I paint the roof to get it on evenly?

Problem #2: After the first coat I'm having some difficulty with successive coats in that it looks streaky. I'm overlapping and yet when it dries it has streaks.

Question #1: I have been blocking each coat with a long board and making cross pattern. Do I need to scuff each coat before applying another coat or can I wipe it down and put on another coat?

Any other hints and tips will be appreciated.

Bill

2. 19Fordy

19Fordy

This is a site that you will fall in love with and learn a lot. All your questions will be answered. Joining is FREE. www.paintucation.com I have some VHS tapes on painting for sale in the classified that may help you.

Last edited: May 9, 2012
  3. Would need a lot more info. Like type of paint, equipment........

4. TERPU

TERPU

Well, based on the limited info on your post I'll give it a shot.