Register now to get rid of these ads!

What adapters are out there to 40 and up wheels to Model A drums

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by A Rodder, Oct 1, 2012.

  1. A Rodder
    Joined: Jul 13, 2008
    Posts: 2,477

    A Rodder
    Member

    I know they have them for wires on later drums, how bout the opposite?
     
  2. Bruce Lancaster
    Joined: Oct 9, 2001
    Posts: 21,682

    Bruce Lancaster
    Member Emeritus

    They were once a common item in all the early Ford catalogs. I haven't seen any for a while...just a flay ring on other side of studs. Danger of cracking late wheels on early drum is MUCH higher than the opposite combo, too.
     
  3. Saxon
    Joined: Aug 9, 2008
    Posts: 2,157

    Saxon
    Member
    from MN

    Another problem is the studs aren't really long enough to get the lugs on fully with the additional ring.

    People do run them though.
     
  4. elmitcheristo
    Joined: Nov 10, 2007
    Posts: 351

    elmitcheristo
    Member

    Any more info on this subject? Pictures of the adapter etc.?

    -Mitch
     

  5. A Rodder
    Joined: Jul 13, 2008
    Posts: 2,477

    A Rodder
    Member

    On another recent thread, someone mentioned grinding the nubs off the stock A drums, is that OK and after you do that will the studs be long enough?
     
  6. Saxon
    Joined: Aug 9, 2008
    Posts: 2,157

    Saxon
    Member
    from MN

    I think you would be better to swag in longer studs. I think AA truck studs are longer and available.
     
  7. MATACONCEPTS
    Joined: Aug 7, 2009
    Posts: 2,069

    MATACONCEPTS
    BANNED

  8. A Rodder
    Joined: Jul 13, 2008
    Posts: 2,477

    A Rodder
    Member


    Baawaaaaahaaaaaa

    My mechanicals on this car are as good as gold and I am not changing them in the forceable future.
     
  9. I've seen and had cars with like 33-35 wires on the A drums... I assumed they bolt right up?
     
  10. A Rodder
    Joined: Jul 13, 2008
    Posts: 2,477

    A Rodder
    Member

    They do, I want to put the 40 and later steel wheels on the A drums
     
  11. A Rodder
    Joined: Jul 13, 2008
    Posts: 2,477

    A Rodder
    Member

  12. Seems like rather than use an adapter it might be better to just update the brakes to something that uses later drums.
     
  13. X2

    ... and that is the more traditional approach.

    My dad got rid of his, then new, 1929 Model A in 1930 or 1931 and he absolutely hated the Ford mechanical brakes. When I started on my first Model A as a teenager around 1960, my dad insisted the first thing I did was to put on hydraulic brakes.

    IMHO, folks that insist on using that technology on a car they drive in modern day traffic must have a death wish. ...just my opinion.
     
  14. A Rodder
    Joined: Jul 13, 2008
    Posts: 2,477

    A Rodder
    Member

    I have had lots of model a's with and without hyd brakes.
    The obvious answer is hyd brakes are better.
    BUT its not what I have in mind for a particular car.

    Does anyone know of a part available to make it happen?
     
  15. mattfink
    Joined: Jun 1, 2009
    Posts: 107

    mattfink
    Member

    40 wheels bolt straight up on my A model?
     
  16. Either you are leaving something out or you may have a serious problem that you overlooked. The original Model A drums and hubs have a raised area that prevents the newer wheels from seating correctly. Both wheels are 5 on 5 1/2 pattern and the later wheels will appear to fit but may crack and come off later. I show this in detail in an earlier post: http://www.jalopyjournal.com/forum/showthread.php?p=8330045&highlight=stephens#post8330045

    Charlie Stephens
     
    Last edited: Jan 8, 2013
  17. Lowbuckboz
    Joined: Apr 2, 2008
    Posts: 499

    Lowbuckboz
    Member

    You need a 5/16" spacer to "raise up the surface around the studs" where the 40 wheel will locate. Nothing is available. I made mine.


    Posted from the TJJ App for iPhone & iPad
     
  18. tommy
    Joined: Mar 3, 2001
    Posts: 14,758

    tommy
    Member Emeritus

  19. A Rodder
    Joined: Jul 13, 2008
    Posts: 2,477

    A Rodder
    Member

    Are you a distributor for those? Hehe.
    Low buck did you have to get longer studs?
     
  20. Lowbuckboz
    Joined: Apr 2, 2008
    Posts: 499

    Lowbuckboz
    Member

    The studs are original. There was enough threads engaging. Torqued the wheels to the original spec, which I believe is 55 ft pounds. I drive this car all over the place, recheck torque every so often, never loosened on me.


    Posted from the TJJ App for iPhone & iPad
     

Share This Page

Register now to get rid of these ads!

Archive

Copyright © 1995-2020 The Jalopy Journal: Steal our stuff, we'll kick your teeth in. Terms of Service. Privacy Policy.

Atomic Industry
Forum software by XenForo™ ©2010-2014 XenForo Ltd.