Register now to get rid of these ads!

Westinghouse air compressor? Any info?

Discussion in 'The Antiquated' started by Moloko, Feb 21, 2010.

1. Moloko

Moloko

I picked up an old air compressor today for my shop. It's a Westinghouse Air-Brake Company. Only info I can find is that they made air brakes for trains, not much on their off-train units other than some ads on Ebay. It's a 1.5hp 220v motor, and a v-twin compressor, and it was made in 1950. Anyone have any experience with these?

2. Thats what I have for a compressor motor. I've been using it for a couple of years with no problems. If you want I can take a pic to make sure we are on the same page. Todd

3. Moloko

Moloko

Here are the pictures of the unit. I got it cleaned and painted tonight. I used Rustoleum hammered paint. Turned out pretty good.

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

4. badduce

badduce
    from aristes pa

any more info on this,i just picked up the twin to this.

5. 39 All Ford

39 All Ford
    from Benton AR

I have one that is a little bigger, I would like to overhaul it someday it is kind of worn out and is currently "out of service".

This is a 15 HP 3YC model, it seems as if most of the internet information on these compressors relates to trains. I did find someone who offered kits to rebuild but can't remember where now.

[​IMG]

6. chrispope281

chrispope281

Hello Moloko I have a pump just like yours with no serial plate or model number and I am trying to locate some rings think you could copy the model number down for me. My pump looks exactly like yours.[email protected]

7. Dale Fairfax

Dale Fairfax
    Member Emeritus