Register now to get rid of these ads!

Western Union vs Paypal? is WU good?

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by 38Chevy454, Mar 7, 2007.

1. I have several items (not HAMB stuff, for my parent's stuff) on e-pay. One guy asked a question about if I would accept Western Union for payment? I have no experience with WU. Is it good? Does it cost me a big fee? Do I have to sign up for anything? How do i get the money? What are your experiences to help educate me?

In the auctions I put paypal or MO as payment method. For some reason this one guy wants to use WU.

Thanks for any help on it. I can't make much sense on the WU website, it is all about sending money, not receiving it. Thanks, Terry

2. haring

haring

SCAM!!

You will get bombarded with spam when selling things on eBay. Be prepared.

3. guiseart

guiseart

Stay away from Western Union unless you are sending something to a relative... scammers favorite.

4. Money orders are one thing.
    The "I'll put money in an account and send you the authorization code" deals are a scam.
    They will send you the verification and then have someone else take out the money.

5. wvenfield

wvenfield

Yeah, it all depends on how he wants to pay you with Western Union. I believe you can get W.U. money orders sent from online. Maybe he is too lazy to go out?

Anyways, if he wants you to do something other than take exactly what he owes you or to do something other than accept their M.O. (you can take it to an office to cash it) tell him no.

6. Crestliner

Crestliner

I have recieved a couple W.U. money orders. They are sent to a W.U. station and i pick it up there. They will cash it if you want, so no chance of a scam.

7. The37Kid

The37Kid