Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical Welding

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by 31Vicky with a hemi, Nov 5, 2015.

Tags:
  1. I was given two grinders last year.:(

2. Atwater Mike

Atwater Mike

I've been welding for 60 years! (not enough lately, though...my wife was assisting me while making a nice new steel table for the shop, 18" X 60". (mIg welding, with my Airco machine)
    About the 3rd weld, she said "Where is my husband, and who the hell are you?" :eek:
    O.K., it's like riding a bike...Just a little 'shaky' lately, and the 'path' keeps disappearing!
    My gas welds still look like TIG welds, so I haven't 'lost it'... Just the 'simple' has become elusive. :D

3. 117harv

117harv

I have had that sent to me a couple times in the last few days. A new meme is created and then takes off like wild fire. I grind a lot of welds, it doesn't mean they are bad.

4. Dapostman

Dapostman

I always prep grind my weld before I weld it. I would love to have more grinders in my arsenal.

5. saltflats

saltflats
    from Missouri

I have more grinders than I have welders.
    But I don't use them on my welds.
    The NHRA book says no grinding on the welds.

6. Maybe that's telling you something Harv ?

:)

Just kidding, I've seen your posts here of outstanding quality and craftsmanship.

volvobrynk and 117harv like this.
  7. pitman

pitman

I welded once.jpg
    A recent favorite!

31Vicky with a hemi likes this.
  8. stimpy

stimpy

Ive been told a time or too I should have rubbed the steel together as I would have had better looking results grinder hell I use a cutting torch to remove crappy welds ..

saltflats likes this.
  9. in that campground.....Luckily I get free grinding wheels from work!

brando1956 likes this.
  10. falcongeorge

falcongeorge
    from BC

grinding welds smooth is period-correct. Leaving them unground is "traditional".

11. Jake Hatfield

Jake Hatfield

Now THAT'S funny!

13. luckythirteenagogo