Register now to get rid of these ads!

Welding Questions

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by littledeucecoupe427, Dec 14, 2003.

1. I'm trying to put this on the tail end of tech week so here goes. I'm wanting to try my hand at welding but I have no experience except for that 3 week stint in high school applied skills class which involved cooking and sewing too. But anyways, I don't really understand the differences between MIG, TIG and the other types of welding. I was wondering if someone could breifly tell me what they are and then if someone could reccomend a good inexpensive welder that I should buy until I get better at it and fork out some real money for a quality one. Something along those lines and any other information would be very helpful.
    Thanks [​IMG]

2. Morrisman

Morrisman
    from England

deuce,
    MIG welding is where you have a hand held 'nozzle' that feeds thin wire thru the middle, from a roll, and electric power comes down round the wire to form the welding arc. it also has gas (argon) that comes out round the outside of the wire to keep the dirty atmosphere and oxygen away from the weld. It's very useful for general welding and also thin body work.

TIG uses a fixed tungsten tip, in a similar type of handset, that forms the welding heat by jumping an electric arc across from the tip to the workpiece. It too has gas flowing out around it. This type of welding you have to handfeed a wire into the weld. Tig is more precise and controlable than Mig.

Arc welding uses a welding rod held in a hand set, and power comes down the rod to form the weld, and the rod melts away into the weld. The rod is usually 2.5 to 3.2 mm think, for most uses, and about a foor or so long. It has no gas but is coated with 'flux' that melts off as you weld, to protect the weld again.

Not the best description, but it'll give you some idea until others chime in [​IMG]
    Paul.

3. autocol

autocol