Register now to get rid of these ads!

Welder help? got one for xmas not what i was looking for.

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by True till Death, Jan 5, 2011.

1. True till Death

True till Death

So I got a welder for Xmas. It’s my first welder and I have no prior experience with welding. What I want to use it for is floors and body panels on my 51 ford, also light to med fabrication. Think harbor freight bead roller modification and fork lift forks for a tractor bucket.

The unit it got is a Hobart Handler 125 EZ; it welds 18 gauge up to 3/16 inch and runs Flux Cored wire, from what I have heard the flux core isn’t great for body panels its messy ect.

<O:pWhat would you guys recommend I have it narrowed down to two other units?

<O:pThe Hobart handler 125 it does flux core and optional MIG conversion kit for welding with .023-.030 in (0.6-0.8 mm) solid wire and gas shielding. Welds 20 gauge up to 3/16 inch

<O:pOr

<O:pThe handler 140 it does flux core and optional MIG conversion kit it Welds 24 gauge up to 1/4 inch

<O:pThe 125 unit is a 20 dollar price difference from the 125 ez the 140 unit is about 150 dollar difference vs. the 125 ez. The 140 unit is the top of my spending limit.

2. I got my 175 Lincoln off of Ebay brand new for $375 plus 45 shipping. I wouldn't trade it for anything . The 110 that I have just doesn't cut it any more. I thought I would use both but since I got the 220 volt, I haven't touched the iio volt one!! Big difference!

3. flying53gmc

flying53gmc
    from M-boro, TN

I have used all three welders you are pondering. For the money there is no way I would keep the ez and at least step up to the 125 that can do gas but the conversion kit you have to buy to do it on gas would get you close in price to the 140 handler. The 140 is a great welder for a 110v model. I was very surprised how much power it had. I would definitely step up to the 140, it is well worth the extra money.