Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical Very short throttle cable required

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by jeffgies, Oct 12, 2021.

  1. jeffgies
    Joined: Oct 4, 2009
    Posts: 48

    jeffgies
    Member

    I'm got a situation where I need a short throttle cable - maybe 5" from firewall to throttle bracket. Complicating the situation is an offset of about 3" where it goes thru the firewall and the bracket. This results in a very tight bend.

    I'm thinking I need to make a bracket/swivel with a shaft that takes care of the offset for me and so that both cables can just run straight...basically front to back in the vehicle. Has anyone run into this before? Looking for clever ideas before I attempt to build something. cable 1.jpg cable 2.jpg
     
  2. 1. Make a new bracket closer to the carb.
     
  3. alchemy
    Joined: Sep 27, 2002
    Posts: 17,926

    alchemy
    Member

    Put a loop in it. No, really.
     
  4. squirrel
    Joined: Sep 23, 2004
    Posts: 50,946

    squirrel
    Member

    yup, long cable with a loop....solve all your problems...but it'll look funny!
     

  5. jeffgies
    Joined: Oct 4, 2009
    Posts: 48

    jeffgies
    Member

    I tried a loop and it seemed like there was so much resistance that the pedal didn’t want to return even with the springs. Mind you, it was a pretty tight loop.
     
    VANDENPLAS likes this.
  6. squirrel
    Joined: Sep 23, 2004
    Posts: 50,946

    squirrel
    Member

    you need a big loop
     
  7. spanners
    Joined: Feb 24, 2009
    Posts: 1,482

    spanners
    Member

    Out past the radiator and back again. Just kidding.
     
  8. DDDenny
    Joined: Feb 6, 2015
    Posts: 16,059

    DDDenny
    Member
    from oregon

    Do you have room to extend a tube or bracket inside the firewall to allow for a longer cable, it may only need an extra inch or two.
    Or make it a mechanical throttle linkage with a solid rod (like the old days).
    Gas Pedal.jpg
     
  9. Mr48chev
    Joined: Dec 28, 2007
    Posts: 30,858

    Mr48chev
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

    The bend at the firewall is way too tight the way you have it now and the cable will bind up right there if it will even go though that bend. A loop and I'd say most of us are thinking around 6 inches or more. Then figure out how much room you need for travel for the cable and position the bracket up further to the front. You only need a half inch or so extra space besides what the linkage moves as far as cable travel goes. The way that is set up it looks like you have about six inches of space for 2-1/2 inches of travel at most. cable 2_LI.jpg in diameter with a bracket to hold it in place would cut way down on the kinks.
     
  10. Looks like a SBF and the loop is a good solution. But I still don't understand why the mounting bracket is so far back.:confused: I mean, you can mount the return springs forward if that's your reason.
     
    Cosmo49 likes this.
  11. Hemi Joel
    Joined: May 4, 2007
    Posts: 1,239

    Hemi Joel
    Member
    from Minnesota

    I agree that the throttle bracket on the carburetor is too far rearward. Couldn't you move that ahead about 3 in and that would alleviate some of the tightness of the cable bends? How about can you move the hole in the firewall over so that it aligns with the carburetor arm?
     
  12. Frank Carey
    Joined: Oct 15, 2009
    Posts: 549

    Frank Carey
    Member

    My loop goes around the coil. No problems in 30+ years.
    20211013_084203.jpg
     
  13. coilover
    Joined: Apr 19, 2007
    Posts: 680

    coilover
    Member
    from Texas

    On very short runs with tight bends its the cable HOUSING not the cable that can't make the bends. I just bend up 3/16 brake line tubing to align with everything and then run a hood cable (very tough) through the tubing and add the needed ends. You can put a 360 degree bend in the tubing every few inches and the cable will slide with zero resistance. Also looks nice with it's exact fit.
     
    winduptoy, loudbang, vtx1800 and 3 others like this.
  14. ekimneirbo
    Joined: Apr 29, 2017
    Posts: 2,492

    ekimneirbo
    Member
    from Brooks Ky

    If you look around, you should be able to find some old throttle bracket or transmission bracket that has a cross shaft. Then use a rod instead of a cable at each end of the offset. Might look at some kind of hydraulic set up............of course we all know how new cars control their throttles, but no one would do that on a Hot Rod.... would they?
     
    Deuces likes this.
  15. 1971BB427
    Joined: Mar 6, 2010
    Posts: 7,267

    1971BB427
    Member
    from Oregon

    Forget all the loops, and ugly bends. Just buy a bell crank and build a bracket to align the bell crank arms with the firewall hole, and the carburetor. Then you can use a short straight cable to the bell crank, and hard rod from bell crank to carb. It can even be used to give a different ratio, so the feel at the pedal can be whatever you prefer by changing mounting holes on the crank arms.
    Speedway sells a universal for $23, and you can mount it horizontally to get things lined up properly.

    https://www.speedwaymotors.com/Spee...E7NAuPHFekak6o5t0my7cBbUcm_MW87hoCwXMQAvD_BwE
     
  16. jeffgies
    Joined: Oct 4, 2009
    Posts: 48

    jeffgies
    Member

    Thanks for all of your advice, guys. I'm going to have to do some planning this weekend.
     
    Last edited: Oct 13, 2021
  17. X-cpe
    Joined: Mar 9, 2018
    Posts: 1,406

    X-cpe

    DSC00519.JPG

    Gas pedal from a mid 80's Chevy Sprint with the top bent sideways and a home made mount because the original plastic broke.
     
  18. 31 Coupe
    Joined: Feb 25, 2008
    Posts: 310

    31 Coupe
    Member

    I agree on the loop method.
    I design a lot of Bowden cable applications for the industry I work in. We use 1/16" flexi wire cores with a nylon lined outer sheath and they still operate well with ~ 2" bend radius ...... they're ~1/4" OD.
    That cable assembly doesn't look like a very good candidate for tight bend radii.
     
  19. THE FRENCHTOWN FLYER
    Joined: Jun 6, 2007
    Posts: 4,181

    THE FRENCHTOWN FLYER
    Member
    from FRENCHTOWN

    I am surprised nobody has suggested a bicycle brake cable. It works for me. They are very flexible and easy to shorten. Get a good one with a nylon liner in the housing. I made a spare to carry and have never needed it yet (20 yr hence).

    Another alternative is a rigid tube bent to carry the cable.
     
    ottoman, pprather and Cosmo49 like this.
  20. hipojoe
    Joined: Jul 23, 2021
    Posts: 352

    hipojoe

    All good fixes but I would head on over to my local Motorcycle shop and pick up a throttle cable for a mini bike. They are very flexible, super strong, and inexpensive. Have not broken one in over 45 years, Maybe give that a try. That will prevent loopty loops in the engine compartment.
     
    jimmy six likes this.
  21. cfmvw
    Joined: Aug 24, 2015
    Posts: 918

    cfmvw
    Member

    You could also use a cable coming out of the firewall with the housing making a gradual 90-degree bend to the bracket and use a bellcrank as others have suggested.
     
    Deuces likes this.
  22. 325w
    Joined: Feb 18, 2008
    Posts: 5,749

    325w
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

    My coupe has had a loop in the cable for years. Still working fine
     
  23. Blake 27
    Joined: Apr 10, 2016
    Posts: 1,208

    Blake 27

    X38 has the simplest idea. You don't need to move it forward a large amount to make a big difference. 1.JPG 2.JPG 3.JPG 4.JPG This is what I did.
     
    Last edited: Oct 14, 2021
  24. jeffgies
    Joined: Oct 4, 2009
    Posts: 48

    jeffgies
    Member

    Here's what I ended up with. (I tried to get to the rad with the loop, really ;) ) A combination of a modified bracket and a loop.
    thanks guys DSC01799.JPG
     
  25. jimmy six
    Joined: Mar 21, 2006
    Posts: 11,006

    jimmy six
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

    Looks like your not done with your carb and intake work yet.
     
  26. oldsman41
    Joined: Jun 25, 2010
    Posts: 1,556

    oldsman41
    Member

    After everyone is done screwing with you, I know you probably don’t want to mess up your firewall but you need a shaft where one end goes threw the firewall and other with linkage goes to carb. It’s the fix
     
    427 sleeper likes this.

Share This Page

Register now to get rid of these ads!

Archive

Copyright © 1995-2021 The Jalopy Journal: Steal our stuff, we'll kick your teeth in. Terms of Service. Privacy Policy.

Atomic Industry
Forum software by XenForo™ ©2010-2014 XenForo Ltd.