Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical Upside down oil pressure gauge

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Sporty45, Mar 25, 2021.

  1. Sporty45
    Joined: Jun 1, 2015
    Posts: 989

    Sporty45
    Member
    from NH Boonies

    I'm looking for an 2" oil pressure gauge with a needle that swings from the top down like the one pictured. I actually bought this one, but the needle was stuck on 25lbs when I got it :mad:. I'm trying to re do the gauges in my 47 Olds dash cluster, and the stock oil pressure gauge only goes up to 60lbs, and I would like one that goes a little bit higher than that. I'm afraid my more modern engine would blow the gauge! Anybody know of a quality gauge I could use? I don't think it necessarily needs to go as high as 100lbs, but that's what I found

    [​IMG]
     
  2. Budget36
    Joined: Nov 29, 2014
    Posts: 6,724

    Budget36
    Member

    Just a question, but why do you need more than 60psi?
     
  3. Sporty45
    Joined: Jun 1, 2015
    Posts: 989

    Sporty45
    Member
    from NH Boonies

    When my engine, a 454, is cold it goes above 60
     
    2OLD2FAST likes this.
  4. gary macdonald
    Joined: Jan 18, 2021
    Posts: 108

    gary macdonald
    Member

    The higher the number the harder it is to determine what is actually happening. You cant blow the gauge the bourdon ( spelling) tube is brass . The can be repaired by you . If you gently bend the chrome ring , holding the glass in , then there is a connector link to the needle . WAIT IS THIS A ELECTRIC GAUGE OR MECHANICAL?
     
    Sporty45 likes this.

  5. gary macdonald
    Joined: Jan 18, 2021
    Posts: 108

    gary macdonald
    Member

    Ive got some in the back , Ill find out the manufacture.
     
    Sporty45 likes this.
  6. SAM3 Customs
    Joined: Oct 22, 2008
    Posts: 49

    SAM3 Customs
    Member
    from Michigan

    Bob's Speedometer ( https://www.bobsspeedometer.com/ ) in Howell, Mi. can modify an existing gauge if you don't find one that works for you.

    Sent from my SM-G892A using Tapatalk
     
    Sporty45 likes this.
  7. petew
    Joined: Jul 21, 2010
    Posts: 220

    petew
    Member
    from Mebane, NC

    RAC Gauges
     
    Sporty45 likes this.
  8. 92-96 ford pickup? 599-700.jpg
     
    Sporty45 likes this.
  9. Doublepumper
    Joined: Jun 26, 2016
    Posts: 1,053

    Doublepumper
    Member

    Smiths are good quality and available in that style. There are several on the e place.
     
    Sporty45 likes this.
  10. Jack E/NJ
    Joined: Mar 5, 2011
    Posts: 664

    Jack E/NJ
    Member
    from NJ

  11. Budget36
    Joined: Nov 29, 2014
    Posts: 6,724

    Budget36
    Member

    That’s not what my question was, if you have 60+ pressure, is it needed?

    Again, I’m just asking.
     
    Sporty45 likes this.
  12. Lloyd's paint & glass
    Joined: Nov 16, 2019
    Posts: 4,861

    Lloyd's paint & glass
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

    Put a ballast resistor in the oil line.
     
  13. gene-koning
    Joined: Oct 28, 2016
    Posts: 2,417

    gene-koning
    Member

    Sure, its needed! As the motor wears and the oil pressure drops, starting with a higher pressure means the motor should last longer, right? LOL!

    If the clearances in the motor are tight, you get what you get, not always what you want or need. Usually when the oil is cold, the pressure is higher, especially at higher rpm. As the oil warms up, the pressure usually drops to a more normal reading. That cold oil, higher rpm, pressure leads one to be concerned about the gauge, and other stuff. I'm sure not going to tear down a fresh built motor to lower the cold oil pressure. Gene
     
    2OLD2FAST and Desoto291Hemi like this.
  14. Sporty45
    Joined: Jun 1, 2015
    Posts: 989

    Sporty45
    Member
    from NH Boonies

    It's a mechanical gauge
     
  15. Sporty45
    Joined: Jun 1, 2015
    Posts: 989

    Sporty45
    Member
    from NH Boonies

    I did see those, but wasn't sure of the quality. Thanks
     
  16. Sporty45
    Joined: Jun 1, 2015
    Posts: 989

    Sporty45
    Member
    from NH Boonies

  17. Sporty45
    Joined: Jun 1, 2015
    Posts: 989

    Sporty45
    Member
    from NH Boonies

    OK, I get what you're asking. I am not using a high pressure oil pump, it's just a stock replacement pump. I didn't build the engine to produce high oil pressure if that's what you mean. And it's only when cold that it goes above 60 lbs. I'm just worried about blowing the stock gauge and getting oil everywhere in the car!
     
    2OLD2FAST and Budget36 like this.
  18. Sporty45
    Joined: Jun 1, 2015
    Posts: 989

    Sporty45
    Member
    from NH Boonies

    I saw those on the bay, but they all were copies coming from India. Don't want to have to deal with customer service in India! :p
     
  19. Sporty45
    Joined: Jun 1, 2015
    Posts: 989

    Sporty45
    Member
    from NH Boonies

    I'm guessing that is a printed circuit cluster? Probably not an easy way to separate the needed gauge and integrate it into my stock cluster if it is.
     
    tb33anda3rd likes this.
  20. gary macdonald
    Joined: Jan 18, 2021
    Posts: 108

    gary macdonald
    Member

    Found a nos sunpro , reads to 100 mechanical and is needle pivots from top . Look on ebay for Sunpro . Email me ill send pics ( only way i know how to send pics )
     
    Sporty45 likes this.
  21. 2OLD2FAST
    Joined: Feb 3, 2010
    Posts: 3,384

    2OLD2FAST
    Member
    from illinois

    Those are probably driven by stepper motors with the input coming from the ECM..
     
    tb33anda3rd and Sporty45 like this.
  22. 2OLD2FAST
    Joined: Feb 3, 2010
    Posts: 3,384

    2OLD2FAST
    Member
    from illinois

    Gary , read up on " screen capture "after some " nudging" by others the other day , I figured it out , & I'm totally computer illiterate ..
     
  23. Sporty45
    Joined: Jun 1, 2015
    Posts: 989

    Sporty45
    Member
    from NH Boonies

    That's the one I pictured in my original post. I bought it and the needle was on 25 lbs when I got it. I'm not buying another one, it looked liked cheap junk when I got it. I just bought a RAC gauge on ebay. Maybe I'll have better luck with this one!
     
  24. Budget36
    Joined: Nov 29, 2014
    Posts: 6,724

    Budget36
    Member

    I gotcha. My Melling stock replacement style pump came with a high pressure spring installed and a standard pressure spring if needed. Since I was matching the bearings to the crank I polished I wound up with a hair above .002 clearance, so used the standard spring to not have too high of pressure.
     
  25. Sporty45
    Joined: Jun 1, 2015
    Posts: 989

    Sporty45
    Member
    from NH Boonies

    I believe mine is a Melling as well, but I don't recall getting 2 sets of springs with it. And it only goes up over 60 at startup, once it's warmed up it stays in the 40 - 45 lb range
     
  26. Budget36
    Joined: Nov 29, 2014
    Posts: 6,724

    Budget36
    Member

    Let me clarify “stock style replacement “. The one I bought is a newer design, called “shark tooth” supposed to eliminate surges, cure cancer, etc;). Could be why it came with two.
    In the past using “regular “ Mellings I don’t recall an extra in the box either.

    Also, seems you’re looking for a mechanical gauge as well since you mentioned not wanting oil inside if an issue occurs.

    I still recall that warm feeling on my ankle getting hotter and hotter. As I pulled over I saw my pant leg was oil soaked when the plastic line wore through or cracked.

    Didn’t take much interior cleanup, but the tennis shoes had to go in the trash!
     
    Sporty45 likes this.
  27. gary macdonald
    Joined: Jan 18, 2021
    Posts: 108

    gary macdonald
    Member

    Alot more variables to oil pressure than just pump .
     
    Sporty45 and 2OLD2FAST like this.
  28. RodStRace
    Joined: Dec 7, 2007
    Posts: 2,610

    RodStRace
    Member

    Not helping OP, but watch out for those Ford "gauges".
    They are paired and you have to buy both.
    Also, and more importantly, Ford has a nasty habit of installing "gauges" that are paired with an on/off sending unit. They had customer complaints with a standard gauge (My pressure is too high cold, or My pressure is too low when warm at idle) , so they have a sending unit that goes open over 3-5 PSI and a "gauge" that goes to the middle of the dial when not grounded. That put a stop to the complaints, but it's as useful as an idiot light.:confused: If the reading doesn't change with RPM at all, it ain't a gauge.:rolleyes:

    Here's a link so you see what others have said.
    www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y2LgrFB7vUI
     
    Last edited: Mar 26, 2021
  29. 6sally6
    Joined: Feb 16, 2014
    Posts: 1,583

    6sally6
    Member

    Thinner oil/synthetic might be a 'crutch'........?
    jus say'in
    6sally6
     
  30. Ralphies54
    Joined: Dec 18, 2009
    Posts: 750

    Ralphies54
    Member

    did you actually hook up and try the gage? Maybe it just sitting on 25 from being jostled from shipping, if it was hooked up it might be able to blow past 25 and settle down and read correctly.
     

Share This Page

Register now to get rid of these ads!

Archive

Copyright © 1995-2021 The Jalopy Journal: Steal our stuff, we'll kick your teeth in. Terms of Service. Privacy Policy.

Atomic Industry
Forum software by XenForo™ ©2010-2014 XenForo Ltd.