Register now to get rid of these ads!

Hot Rods Turns over but NO SPARK ... HELP

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by olds vroom, Jun 4, 2015.

  1. olds vroom
    Joined: Jan 29, 2010
    Posts: 984

    olds vroom
    Member

    I have an 86 sbc 305 it turns over but no spark . I have power to the distributor and I've already replaced the coil what am I missing? Help!
     
  2. Jalopy Joker
    Joined: Sep 3, 2006
    Posts: 26,952

    Jalopy Joker
    Member

    HEI? post pics of motor
     
  3. jimcolwell
    Joined: Oct 4, 2009
    Posts: 474

    jimcolwell
    Member
    from Amarillo

    Remove the module, take to perilous and have it checked 3 times. The best module is the GM brand. Others will fail.:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D
     
  4. jimcolwell
    Joined: Oct 4, 2009
    Posts: 474

    jimcolwell
    Member
    from Amarillo

    I hate spell check Oreillys
     

  5. olds vroom
    Joined: Jan 29, 2010
    Posts: 984

    olds vroom
    Member

    Yes it is hei . I got the motor out of a running truck so I know it ran good but now no spark
     
  6. If its an HEI,
    1 check the rotor/ cap. They will arc thru the cheap rotors to the weights
    2 check the pick up coil with a meter( the wires brake cuz the advance moves them)
    3 have the electronic thing(forgot the name of it) in the bottem tested
    If its points, replace the condenser and check points
     
    SanDiegoHighwayman likes this.
  7. Master of None
    Joined: Dec 18, 2009
    Posts: 2,279

    Master of None
    Member

    I would just pick up a new module, but first check to see which one you need. There is a couple of different styles. Also check all of your grounds, most likely isn't a grounding problem, but it will help in the long run.
     
  8. harpo1313
    Joined: Jan 4, 2008
    Posts: 2,252

    harpo1313
    Member
    from wareham,ma

    Theres two plugs,ignition and tach.just checking off the easy stuff.
     
  9. olds vroom
    Joined: Jan 29, 2010
    Posts: 984

    olds vroom
    Member

    The power plug is in the right terminal but thanks I've done that one before
     
  10. stimpy
    Joined: Apr 16, 2006
    Posts: 3,547

    stimpy

    full blast has it on the money as thats all in a HEI the third thingy is the module . and make sure you put the paste back on it if you remove it , unless you want to replace it in a few weeks . besides AC delco modules Acell makes a decent replacement one too ( and has a better high rpm dwell ) . the pick up coils are the number one problem followed by the arcing thru the rotor assy ( you have to look very carefully as usually its a small pinhole ) . and buy the good cap and rotor from Ac delco or Acell as they are thicker .
     
  11. My money is on the module being bad.
    It can go bad if you have power to it for a while without the motor running .
     
    Last edited: Jun 4, 2015
  12. olds vroom
    Joined: Jan 29, 2010
    Posts: 984

    olds vroom
    Member

    I'll get a module today
     
  13. olds vroom
    Joined: Jan 29, 2010
    Posts: 984

    olds vroom
    Member

    I put a new module in and it fired right up thanks guys
     
    volvobrynk likes this.
  14. Thanks for the follow up post. People seldom do it but it helps others in the future when they are searching the archives.
     
    volvobrynk likes this.
  15. olds vroom
    Joined: Jan 29, 2010
    Posts: 984

    olds vroom
    Member

    I find that too that's why I try to remember to do a follow up
     
  16. jimcolwell
    Joined: Oct 4, 2009
    Posts: 474

    jimcolwell
    Member
    from Amarillo

  17. olds vroom
    Joined: Jan 29, 2010
    Posts: 984

    olds vroom
    Member

    I be burned through two more modules and a new coil any more ideas ? Is it just time to replace whole distributor
     
  18. jetnow1
    Joined: Jan 30, 2008
    Posts: 1,827

    jetnow1
    ALLIANCE MEMBER
    from CT
    1. A-D Truckers

    Did you use the paste as mentioned above?
     
  19. olds vroom
    Joined: Jan 29, 2010
    Posts: 984

    olds vroom
    Member

    Yes every time cleaned the old paste off and put on new
     
  20. Do you have a resister in line? If you do take it out. You may be having a low voltage problem. Carl
     
  21. olds vroom
    Joined: Jan 29, 2010
    Posts: 984

    olds vroom
    Member

    No resistor , I have a new distributor coming tomarrow we will see if that fixes it
     

Share This Page

Register now to get rid of these ads!

Archive

Copyright © 1995-2021 The Jalopy Journal: Steal our stuff, we'll kick your teeth in. Terms of Service. Privacy Policy.

Atomic Industry
Forum software by XenForo™ ©2010-2014 XenForo Ltd.