Register now to get rid of these ads!

Hot Rods **Turning my '36 Ford 5-window Coupe from Grandpas stocker into a Hot Rod!!**

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Sutton Speed, Dec 2, 2012.

1. Sutton Speed

Sutton Speed

Well, I finally have found some time the last few weeks to get some work done on my '36 coupe I picked up back in February and figured it was time to start a new thread.... Here's the story.

So I finally finished my '31 Model a coupe I've been building for the past 4 years or so just in time to drive away from my wedding last April and after putting some miles on it and achieving my goal of having it in the Suede Palace at the GNRS last year, I made the decision to send it down the road. Sold the car to my new friend Jacek of the Rumblers Car Club in Germany and this last February it made it's voyage across the pond.

About the same time I posted the coupe on the HAMB I found a smokin deal on a beautiful 1936 Ford 5-window coupe on Craigslist. The car was up in Northern California a few miles from my brothers place so luckily he was kind enough to go and check it out for me. He gave the thumbs up and the next day I hopped on a flight to San Jose and struck a deal. My brother stored the car for me up in San Jose for a few weeks and back in March I made the trek up there to pick it up.

So the story is the car was partially restored back in the early 90's by an older gentleman in the Bay area and was never finished. It sat for almost 20 years until two years ago the guy I bought it from purchased it and finished the majority of the work. The car was about 85% done and is restored to 100% stock. Basically everything on the car was new or rebuilt, rebuilt stock '36 drivetrain, all rebuilt suspension and mechanical brakes, new glass, seals, chrome, pretty much everything but the paint, which is still in decent shape.