Register now to get rid of these ads!

Turn Signal Wiring

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by flip, May 26, 2013.

  1. flip
    Joined: Jul 15, 2006
    Posts: 120

    flip
    Member

    I am wiring up Turn Signals using a toggle switch. For the rear I used a tail light wiring converter for trailers to prevent the brake light from overriding the turn signal, this is running through an 1157 bulb. This works fine. In the front, I am bypassing the converter and running directly to the signal. All works fine if I also use a 1157 socket and bulb in the front. But I want to use a smaller light with a single filament bulb, but this setup doesn't flash. Light comes on but no flash. All grounds are good. Now if I ground the toggle switch terminal with a test light, it will flash. As I said the light has a good ground but doesn't appear to be making a circuit. It seems issue is with the single filament bulb. Not an expert, so what am I missing? Thanks to all
     
  2. not enough current draw to trigger the flasher? are you using the correct socket for the front bulbs?
     
  3. Are you using 1156 for the front bulbs?
     
  4. 48 Chubby
    Joined: Apr 29, 2008
    Posts: 1,014

    48 Chubby
    Member Emeritus

    The fact that it flashes when you add the test light to the circuit says that the small bulb is not drawing enough current. Either use a bigger bulb or a flasher made for less draw. You could add a hidden bulb to the circuit or find a flasher used with LED lights.
     

  5. Okatoma cruiser
    Joined: Feb 9, 2013
    Posts: 179

    Okatoma cruiser
    Member
    from Ms

    Maybe try a light duty flasher-like the other guys said its not pulling enough amperage to flash
     
  6. GREASER815
    Joined: Dec 2, 2008
    Posts: 973

    GREASER815
    Member

    Yep, run a flasher made for LED lights. Speedway has them or maybe find local.
     
  7. arvonian
    Joined: Feb 28, 2013
    Posts: 35

    arvonian
    Member
    from Virginia

    Here's a schematic for a simple turn signal circuit. Like all the others have said, make sure you have the right bulbs, and a flasher that is designed for 4 lights (they do make flashers for just 2 bulbs...)

    Willy
     

    Attached Files:

  8. flip
    Joined: Jul 15, 2006
    Posts: 120

    flip
    Member

    Thanks for all the responses. It seems all feel bulb is not drawing enough current. Light is generic from Speedway. Bulb has no # so not sure what it is. I will see if an 1156 will fit socket as was one suggestion, also will try a light duty flasher and/or wiring in another small bulb to pull more current. Again thanks to all and to the Hamb.
     
  9. Davyj
    Joined: Jul 11, 2011
    Posts: 442

    Davyj
    Member

    yup, get an electronic flasher ...........or add a resistor to increase draw.
     

Share This Page

Register now to get rid of these ads!

Archive

Copyright © 1995-2021 The Jalopy Journal: Steal our stuff, we'll kick your teeth in. Terms of Service. Privacy Policy.

Atomic Industry
Forum software by XenForo™ ©2010-2014 XenForo Ltd.