Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical TURN SIGNAL SWITCH PROBLEM

Discussion in 'Traditional Hot Rods' started by 36tudordeluxe, Mar 22, 2015.

  1. 36tudordeluxe
    Joined: Oct 2, 2008
    Posts: 496

    36tudordeluxe
    Member

    Have an aftermarket seven wire turn signal switch, front turn signals work fine, after wiring in left rear both rear tail lights blink when turn signal arm is moved for left turn. Discovered that wire running from brake light switch (also wire from turn signal goes here) is spliced into both rear tail lights therefore both blink. Any ideas on how to separate them out?
     
  2. rustynuts 1939 coe
    Joined: Jan 24, 2010
    Posts: 20

    rustynuts 1939 coe
    Member

    splice will have to be removed ,brake switch signal wire will need to be connected to turn signal switch ..turn signal switch controls brake light /turn signal function to rear of car
     
  3. they should be wired into the brake light side of the socket in your tail lights..
     
  4. The tail lights (low filament) are separate and ties into the headlights.

    The brake lights (high filament) are tied into the turn signal switch because the high filament in the rear serves 2 purposes. The turn signal switch controls both of them.

    image.jpg
     

  5. Eliminate the splice and run separate wires from each high filament ALL the way to the switch. That will allow the turn signals to travel to only the appropriate filament, individually.

    The turn signal switch that you have now effectively has the "splice" inside of it and takes care of making sure that both high filaments get illuminated together when the brake pedal is depressed, but individually when the turn signal switch is activated.
     
  6. 36tudordeluxe
    Joined: Oct 2, 2008
    Posts: 496

    36tudordeluxe
    Member

    31Vicky, that's the exact color code for my turn signal switch, much appreciated. So, are you saying I need to take the orange & brown wires all the way into the tail light housing and tie in there rather than making a splice before the wire enters the housing? I think this is what "Concept" is also telling me.
     
  7. Not to speak for 31Vicky, but yes. The wires need to go separately all the way to the brake lights. If they connect to each other at any point after exiting the switch they effectively become a single wire. The current that illuminates the brake lights will no longer see two filaments. It will treat both filaments as one.
     
  8. Yes. The logic of the switch isn't shown, but the splice is within the switch and conditional on the switch being centered. Once off center the splice is broken.
     
  9. 36tudordeluxe
    Joined: Oct 2, 2008
    Posts: 496

    36tudordeluxe
    Member

    Thanks guys, will get back to it.
     
  10. seb fontana
    Joined: Sep 1, 2005
    Posts: 7,514

    seb fontana
    Member
    from ct

    Thats it...
     
  11. d2_willys
    Joined: Sep 8, 2007
    Posts: 4,212

    d2_willys
    Member
    from Kansas

    Make sure the grounds are good at the tail light sockets.
     
  12. 36tudordeluxe
    Joined: Oct 2, 2008
    Posts: 496

    36tudordeluxe
    Member

    Works great now guys, thank you!
     

Share This Page

Register now to get rid of these ads!

Archive

Copyright © 1995-2021 The Jalopy Journal: Steal our stuff, we'll kick your teeth in. Terms of Service. Privacy Policy.

Atomic Industry
Forum software by XenForo™ ©2010-2014 XenForo Ltd.