Register now to get rid of these ads!

Hot Rods Tubing Joinery-Braze or TIG?

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by jaw22w, Jun 23, 2018.

1. jaw22w

jaw22w
    from Indiana

I just watched a show called "A Craftsman's Legacy". The show was about building bicycle frames. A man named Steven Bilenky was the builder. They showed him brazing the frame together. When finished the joint was a thing of beauty. The tubes flowed together like they were cast in one piece. The much larger radius of the brass fillet at the joint is what made the whole difference between a TIG welded joint and the brazed joint. I was a certified stick welder and have MIG and TIG in my shop, so I always weld on my hot rods, but IMHO, the brazed joint is a much more desirable joint esthetically. My concern is the strength of the joint. Which is stronger? And by an how much?
    Used in a non-structural application, I'm sure it would be good enough. They put those bicycles through some torture.
    Just curious. I may have to try some brazing.

loudbang, HunterYJ and klleetrucking like this.
  2. earlymopar

earlymopar

Are you sure what you saw was brazing and not "silver soldering"? Brazing is a different process. I have done a ton of silver soldering and built alot of production soldering fixtures and jigs over the years and depending on the alloy / mix you use and the quality of the joint (fit) you're soldering, it is incredibly strong. Not only bicycle frames were and are done this way but so were motorcycle frames at one time. My 1929 Harley Davidson frame used the same process albeit with an alloy of solder that was more heavy in brass.

- EM

3. sliceddeuce

sliceddeuce

Bird Cage Maseratis were brazed.

gimpyshotrods likes this.
  4. lippy

lippy
    from Ks

Harley and others used brazed joints to build their frames. And yes , the front down legs were also brazed to the neck casting. Maybe sweated is a better term? Mopar beat me to it. Lol. Lippy

5. lippy

lippy