Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical Trouble Shooting a flathead 6

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by spencer51deluxe, Aug 29, 2014.

1. spencer51deluxe

spencer51deluxe

I am an old car newbie and I need some guidance on troubleshooting an issue with a 1951 Chrysler Flathead 6. I was driving the car at low speed (less than 20 mph) when it shut off on me and would not start back up. It turns over, but will not start. I checked for spark, no spark at the plugs, and traced the issue back to the distributor. I first replaced the points, rotor, etc., still no spark. I realized the rotor was not turning and proceeded to pull the distributor and replace it with a tested NOS distributor, still no spark and rotor was still not turning. I did some research and thought that it might be a broken timing chain. I dug into the engine, removed the chain cover and the chain and gears/sprockets are in great shape. I cranked the engine over using the keys and the cam and crank sprockets turn, I seem to be getting compression on the cylinders, and there are no odd sounds when the engine turns. What's my issue?

Last edited: Aug 29, 2014
  2. Was the old distributor stiff to turn (turning the shaft in the dist. body) when you pulled it out? also have you done a compression test? more importantly if you're looking for a timing belt you're not going to find one (they are chain driven not belt).

3. greaseyknight

greaseyknight
    from Burley WA

The gear on the camshaft that runs the distributor is broken or stripped. It looks like that gear is an integral part of the camshaft, so you will need to get another one (just a guess, I'm not very familiar with that motor). I would pull the distributor our and look down the hole at the camshaft while cranking the motor over.

Posted using the Full Custom H.A.M.B. App!

4. drtrcrV-8

drtrcrV-8