Register now to get rid of these ads!

Tri Carb set up for a Flathead?

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by bagged63, Oct 14, 2012.

1. bagged63

bagged63

I am just beginning the rebuild of a 1941 Ford Flathead 24 bolt. i picked up a box of ford 94 carbs parts with 4 whole but slightly different carbs and a mess of parts off craigslist. My plan (loosely stated) is to rebuild three of them and pick up a three up intake off of ebay. So a couple of questions: 1) if each carb is a bit different can they still be joined on one manifold? 2) if so, is it true that the center carb is the master and the two outer carbs are slave? meaning is the center carb the only carb with a choke and jets and the other two are wide open and staged so they only work when the pedal is pushed beyond a certain point? (as a side note, is there a different rebuild kit for each of the 94's? according to model # stamped on the outside?) Thank you for any help as this is the first engine rebuild for me.

2. carbking

carbking

The two end carbs should be the same.

It is common to use one of the carbs with the hand throttle for the center because of the extended throttle shaft. These would be 91-99, 21-29, or model 59.

Commonly used carbs for the ends would be 8BA, EAB, or others without the extended throttle shaft, although the extended shaft carbs may also be used.

This link may help:

http://www.thecarburetorshop.com/Aftermarkettripowersetups.htm

Jon.

bagged63 likes this.
  3. mastergun1980

mastergun1980
    from Alva OK

You can also pick up extended throttle shafts. In facy you can buy aluminum secondary throttle boddies ( which have no idel circuit and ar springload to ensure full closure... But some folks don't like aluminum bases. .. .
    I used y-block aa-1 carbs for my 3x2 set up ( think holley 94 with more cfm )
    [​IMG]