Register now to get rid of these ads!

tig welding question

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Joe Jackman, May 29, 2012.

1. Joe Jackman

Joe Jackman
    from SoCal

until you can properly hand feed a welding rod with your fingers is there any point in taking any classes or making test welds? i hope i can pick this up with time because i'm not very good at it.

2. 36tbird

36tbird

That part of TIG welding is common to gas welding. If you can find a TIG class in your area, definitely take it. If you can only find a class that offers gas, you might want to take it for the experience.

3. rockable

rockable
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

The first thing you want to do is learn how to form a puddle, control the heat and walk the puddle. Until you learn to do that without touching the electrode to the work, you shouldn't pick up the filler rod. You can still make good welds without being able to feed the filler between your fingers. There were lots of them done before someone figured out that trick.

4. Absolutely. You DO need to learn to feed rod, but studying and understanding the PUDDLE is the key to TIG welding. You can take 2 pieces of metal and do what is called a "fusion" weld with a TIG. Just melting the metal together with no filler rod added. This method is NOT structurally sound, and should only be used to work on torch mechanics; but it IS welding. The movement and heat control are the same with a fusion weld as when welding with fill rod. The rod is (kinda) like the icing on the cake.

5. grovedawg

grovedawg
    from Heber, UT

Practice doesn't make you perfect, but it makes you better. Learn to control the puddle, then add filler. And just keep practicing.

6. wawuzit

wawuzit
    from tennessee