Register now to get rid of these ads!

TIG filler rod on frames

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by ruralrod, Dec 30, 2004.

1. ruralrod

ruralrod

hey fellas,

got me a TIG for xmas. so, i'm new to the method. what are ya using on frames and thangs? exhaust? crossmembers?
    Norco, local supplier, gave me a 1/16 1060 rod. they say pretty versatile. i found someone say ER80S-D2 is Nascar type regulation. is that ideal for us too?

thanx again, rural

2. ruralrod

ruralrod

any thoughts fellas?

i can't seem to find anybody's thoughts on TIG on the HAMB.

anyhoo thanx, rural

3. You need to be more patient. You need to wait more than 12 min.

4. Nimrod

Nimrod

The 1060 in various sizes should be fine. The other rod you mentioned I'm not familliar with. The one thing you don't want to do is use steel rod intended for gas welding, the copper coating on it is thicker and not intended for tig welding.

5. Filler rod is relevant to what kind of steel your welding on. There is a hand book you should have if your not going to take any classes to learn how and what. You can't weld Alum. with steel rod and vice versa. Mild steel and chrome molly are just about that different when it comes to filler rod. Same with heat range and size and type of tungston.
    The Wizzard

6. Nimrod

Nimrod

And size of the rod is kind of a personal preference, but you should get yourself a variety because it will effect the welds. The bigger the rod the more it cools the puddle each time you dip the rod. I'd say something along the lines of a 3/32 rod is about right for frame work.

7. caddydave

caddydave