Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical Thumping noise in first gear??? Merc Overdrive

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Franco51merc, Mar 11, 2021.

1. Franco51merc

Franco51merc

So...
    I have a 51 Merc sedan I've been driving and running for about 8 years, never had any major issues. Original Merc Flathead, 3 speed overdrive, original rear end recently changed to 3.31 rear gears.
    All of the sudden the car is making a loud thumping noise from the rotating assembly somewhere. But only in first gear. It almost sounds like a bad rod knock, but it can't be cause it only does it when the car is in gear.
    It's not the rear end cause I ran the car in gear on stands, and the noise is coming from the front. The driveline didn't seem to have much play when I put my hands on it. It goes into gear ok, the clutch works. The only thing I could think of is that the transmission has taken a dump. Anyone know what it could be? I keep my trans full of oil, never ran it dry. Maybe I used the wrong fluid and messed up something? I did try different gear oils

2. Did you when checking/filling the trans check at both fill places, both the main case and the OD unit? While they share a common drain, level must be checked at both fill plugs and the OD fills separately..

Hnstray likes this.
  3. Mac VP

Mac VP

You can use the OD filler plug to prefill the OD section if the unit is empty but generally the transmission is filled and topped off through the regular gear box filler plug on the passenger side of the case. There are several passages between the OD section and the 3speed section for oil to travel through and even out the level. You monitor the overall level from the 3 speed gearbox side plug.